Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Statistics and Data
American Community Survey
The American Community Survey (ACS) is the US Census Bureau annual survey of demographic, social, and economic data, including journey-to-work statistics.
Bureau of Transportation Statistics
BTS data collections include traffic, passenger flow, employment, financial condition, and on-time performance of commercial aviation; the Commodity Flow Survey; transborder movement of freight by mode of transportation; a census of ferry operations, precursor safety data for transit operations, and data on near misses and equipment failures in offshore operations.
Datasets on motor vehicle crashes. managed and hosted by the U.S. General Services Administration.
FARS: Fatality Analysis Reporting System
Includes motor vehicle accident statistics re: occupants, vehicles, circumstances, restraints, etc
Fatality statistics from IIHS.
IRTAD Road Safety Database
The IRTAD database contains validated, up-to-date crash and exposure data from 32 countries: safety and traffic data, aggregated by country and year from 1970.
Vehicle Crash Test Database, Biomechanics Test Database, Components Test Database, Event Data Recorder Reports, NVS Software Applications, and Crash Simulation Vehicle Models databases from the NHTSA
ProQuest Statistical Insight
ProQuest Statistical Insight provides fast and easy access to statistical information produced by U.S. Federal agencies, States, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations. PQSI brings together a massive collection of statistical data in a single easy-to-use search interface, with additional features such as descriptive abstracts, detailed indexing, full-text PDFs of source documents, tables, and downloadable spreadsheets containing table data.
State Motor Vehicle Crashes
Quick, easy access to traffic safety facts and crash location web maps by state, from NHTSA.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
A searchable index of over 100 transportation-related data bases across every mode of transportation — with many social and demographic data sets that are commonly used in transportation analysis.
Insurance Institute for Highway Safety
Crash test ratings, news, data, and a monthly journal, "Status Report"
International Traffic Safety Data and Analysis Group (IRTAD)
With around 70 members and observers from 40 countries, IRTAD has become a central force in the promotion of international co-operation on road crash data and its analysis. It has been hailed as “model of a multi-country effort” and its crash data described as “simply the best in the world.”
National Transportation Safety Board
The NTSB is charged with investigating every civil aviation accident the United States and significant accidents in other modes of transportation – railroad, highway, marine and pipeline.
NHTSA - Office of Vehicle Safety Research
Research on crash injuries, child seat safety, automotive cybersecurity, and other topics - as well as data and news.