Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Chicago Metropolitan Agency for Planning - Travel Tracker Survey Data
A comprehensive travel and activity survey for northeastern Illinois, with data collected between January 2007 and February 2008. Data from 1990 are also available for comparison and analysis.
Chicago Open Data Portal - Transportation
The City of Chicago's Data Portal hosts over 200 datasets presented in easy-to-use formats about City departments, services, facilities and performance.
IDOT Illinois Technology Transfer Center
GIS data for Illinois, at the state and county levels, for highways, railroads, and structures.
Illinois State Highway Maps
Digitized Illinois state road and highway maps, dating back to 1917.
Illinois Travel Statistics
Current and historical traffic information including traffic patterns, vehicle miles of travel (VMT), and more.
U.S. Government Resources
Federal Highway Administration - Research and Technology
Includes full text documents and statistics re: motor vehicles, drivers, trucking and road transportation
Federal Highway Administration - U.S. Department of Transportation
The Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) is an agency within the U.S. Department of Transportation that supports State and local governments in the design, construction, and maintenance of the Nation’s highway system (Federal Aid Highway Program) and various federally and tribal owned lands (Federal Lands Highway Program).
Infrastructure: ASCE National Report Card
A current and detailed report on the condition of U.S. transportation infrastructure as produced by the American Society of Civil Engineers
Intelligent Transportation Systems
The U.S. Department of Transportation's ITS page includes reports on the history of ITS, plans for the future of ITS, and other current research resources.
National Cooperative Highway Research Program
Administered by the TransportationResearch Board (TRB) and sponsored by the member departments; searchable databases of reports and papers.
Office of Highway Policy Information-U.S. Department of Transportation
Access to: Highway Performance Monitoring System, Motor Fuel & Highway Trust Fund, Highway Finance Data, National Household Travel Survey and Tavel Monitoring
Price Trends for Federal-Aid Highway Construction
Quarterly updates for highway construction price trends, including bridges.
The Confederation of Organisations in Road Transport Enforcement
The mission of CORTE is to encourage, promote and assist the development and implementation of policies for Road Transport, Road Safety and Road Security in Europe and at international level.
International Road Federation
The IRF serves a network of public and private sector members in more than 70 countries by providing world-class knowledge resources, advocacy services, and continuing education programs which together offer a global marketplace for best practices and industry solutions.
United Nations Road Safety Collaboration
he goal of the Collaboration is to facilitate international cooperation and to strengthen global and regional coordination among UN agencies and other international partners to implement UN General Assembly resolutions and the recommendations of the world report thereby supporting country programmes.
Statistics and Data
Bureau of Transportation Statistics
BTS data collections include traffic, passenger flow, employment, financial condition, and on-time performance of commercial aviation; the Commodity Flow Survey; transborder movement of freight by mode of transportation; a census of ferry operations, precursor safety data for transit operations, and data on near misses and equipment failures in offshore operations.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Provides statistics on transportation related deaths and injuries
ProQuest Statistical Insight
ProQuest Statistical Insight provides fast and easy access to statistical information produced by U.S. Federal agencies, States, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations. PQSI brings together a massive collection of statistical data in a single easy-to-use search interface, with additional features such as descriptive abstracts, detailed indexing, full-text PDFs of source documents, tables, and downloadable spreadsheets containing table data.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
A searchable index of over 100 transportation-related data bases across every mode of transportation — with many social and demographic data sets that are commonly used in transportation analysis.
Associations and Organizations