Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Chicago Area Transportation Statistics and Data
Air Traffic Data
The Chicago Department of Aviation (CDA) compiles monthly statistics, including flight operations, passenger totals and cargo tonnage. The data is provided by the airlines and summarized by the CDA. Use the drop downs below to view all air traffic data from O'Hare and Midway International Airports from as far back as the year 2000.
Chicago Metropolitan Agency for Planning - Travel Tracker Survey Data
A comprehensive travel and activity survey for northeastern Illinois, with data collected between January 2007 and February 2008. Data from 1990 are also available for comparison and analysis.
Chicago Open Data Portal - Transportation
More than 100 datasets published by the City of Chicago. Information includes average daily traffic counts, maps of bike racks, speed camera violations, and many other subjects.
Chicago Transit Authority Open Data
CTA ridership numbers, station information, and other data of interest to researchers, urban planners, journalists and businesses, as well as interested citizens.
CTA Performance Metrics
Reports on performance metrics, designed to measure the Chicago Transit Authority’s success in meeting its goal of providing ontime, clean, safe, efficient and courteous service.
Divvy Bikes System Data
Historical trip data available to the public. Start and end times, stations, rider types (member or 24-Hour Pass user), and age and gender information for Member trips.
Freight Data and Resources
From CMAP, a collection of multimodal freight data and analysis for northeastern Illinois.
IDOT Illinois Technology Transfer Center
GIS data for Illinois, at the state and county levels, for highways, railroads, and structures.
Illinois Airport Inventory Report 2012
Information on the characteristics and the physical condition of the various elements of the public airports in Illinois as well as data on the actual use of both the publicly and privately owned airports in the state.
Illinois Travel Statistics
IDOT annually publishes detailed traffic information based on a statewide traffic count program. Counts from this program range in duration from continuously recorded data at permanent count stations to thousands of 24-hour counts at locations throughout the state.
RTAMS - Regional Transportation Authority Mapping and Statistics
RTAMS is a data warehouse for planning and financial information on the transit system in the northeastern Illinois area surrounding Chicago. RTAMS also allows users to access transit and related data through interactive maps. A great source for demographics, transit access scores, TOD information, and more.
Scooter Data Streams
Open data that delivers real-time locations of scooters available for rent in Chicago
Transportation Survey: How Does Northwestern Commute?
Information about the commuting habits of students, faculty, and staff
U.S. Transportation Data and Maps
Bureau of Transportation Statistics - Geospatial Portal
The BTS Geospatial Portal features the National Transportation Atlas Database (NTAD), provides access to a collection of reference, thematic, and story maps, and develops mapping applications to visualize and analyze geospatial data, and tools that allow users to make custom maps.
Esri Data and Maps
Downloadable data layers for the U.S., North America, Europe, and the world.
National Transportation Atlas Database
Published by BTS, the National Transportation Atlas Database (NTAD) is a set of geogrpahic databases of transportation facilities, networks, and infrastructure.
Railroads and the Making of Modern America
GIS data and other resources on 19th century U.S. railroads
Spatial extracts from the U.S. Census Bureau's MAF/TIGER database, containing features such as roads, railroads, rivers, and geographic areas. Shapefiles, datasets, and an online mapping application.
A searchable index of over 100 transportation-related data bases across every mode of transportation — with many social and demographic data sets that are commonly used in transportation analysis.
Key Resource for Transportation Data
National Transit Map
In the United States, transit ridership has grown by more than 20 percent in the last decade, reaching its highest levels since 1957. To keep track of the industry and provide public information and statistics as it continues to grow, FTA’s National Transit Database (NTD) records the financial, operating and asset condition of transit systems.
The Bureau of Transportation Statistics National Transit Map[external link] offers data from hundreds of transit agencies about their stops, routes, and schedules.