Databases for Historical Information
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowFull-text and full-image articles from: The Atlanta Constitution (1868-1984), Atlanta Daily World (1931-2010), The Baltimore Afro-American (1893-2010), The Baltimore Sun (1837-1996), The Boston Globe (1872-1990), Chicago Defender (1909 - 2010), Chicago Tribune (1849-2013), Chinese Newspapers Collection (1832 - 1953), Christian Science Monitor (1908-2009), The Cincinnati Enquirer (1841-1922), Cleveland Call and Post (1934–2010), Detroit Free Press (1831-1999), The Guardian and the Observer (1791-2003), Irish Times and the Weekly Irish Times (1859-2020), The Jewish Advocate (1905-1990), The Jewish Exponent (1887-1990), Kansas City Call (1919-2010), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2010), Los Angeles Times (1881-2014), Louisville Defender (1951-2010), Michigan Chronicle (1939-2010), Minneapolis Star Tribune (1867-2001), New York Amsterdam News (1922-2010), The New York Times (1851-2018), New York Tribune / Herald Tribune (1841-1962), Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2010), Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2010), Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2010), St. Louis Post-Dispatch (1874-2003), St. Louis American (1949-2010), The Times of India (1838-2001), The Wall Street Journal (1889-2010), The Washington Post (1877-2006), Le Monde (1944-2000), Indianapolis Star (1903-2004)
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowDigitized, full-text versions of core scholarly journals across disciplines.While coverage of these journals goes back to the first issue, for most journals the most recent issues will be for 3-5 years ago.
- America: History & Life This link opens in a new windowAmerica: History & Life is an index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. The database indexes journals from 1964 to the present and also includes citations and links to book and media reviews. Strong English-language journal coverage but also included are abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowThis multidisciplinary database provides access to articles from journals, magazines, and reference sources across all subject areas. Coverage is primarily from 1980 to the present, with some older content.
- Wiley Digital Archives This link opens in a new windowWiley Digital Archives is a continuous program of new databases comprised of unique or rare historical primary sources, digitized from leading societies, libraries, and archives around the world, and made accessible in ways that tie directly to research outcomes and educational goals. All Archives are cross-searchable, and contain tools for searching, browsing, analyzing and visualizing primary source content.
Selected Transportation Projects in Chicago
- Chicago Area Transportation StudySearch the Transportation Library's catalog to discover documents dating back to 1956, published by the Chicago Area Transportation Study.
- Crosstown ExpresswayEngineering plans, Environmental Impact Statements, and planning documents related to Chicago's proposed Crosstown Expressway, published in the 1960s and 1970s.
Chicago's Airports
- History of Chicago AirportsSearch the Transportation Library's catalog for works on the history of airports in Chicago.
- Meigs FieldSearch the Transportation Library's catalog for materials on Chicago's Meigs Field.
- Midway International AirportSearch the library's catalog for information, both current and historical, on Chicago's Midway International Airport.
- O'Hare International AirportThe library's collections contain a wealth of primary source information on O'Hare International Airport, from the early planning stages to the present day.
- Leigh Fisher Papers Related to O'Hare International AirportLeigh Fisher (1922-1982) was an airport consultant and founder of Leigh Fisher Associates (LFA) who advised on the design and construction of airports throughout the second half of the 20th century. Fisher advised on over 200 airports worldwide.
Chicago-Related Archival Collections at the Transportation Library
- Inland Water PamphletsThe collection is arranged into 40 series, each representing a corporate body. It includes an additional miscellaneous series for materials not associated with a particular transportation company. The collection consists of brochures used to advertise recreational cruises, primarily those on the Great Lakes. Companies operating out of Chicago, Illinois are substantially represented in the collection.
- Ronald J. Sullivan Photograph CollectionThe Ronald J. Sullivan Photograph Collection is an extensive collection of photographs and slides of public and commercial buses and public transit and commuter trains, dating from 1946-2000. The bulk of the collection comprises photographs taken by Ronald J. Sullivan, an amateur photographer and rail and bus enthusiast; also included are historic images of Chicago-area transit that were part of Sullivan’s personal collection, and which supplement the photographer’s original material. The majority of the photographs were taken in Chicago, Illinois and the surrounding area, with a few in other cities and international locations. Sullivan documented nearly all of the photographs and slides in this collection in detail with bus or train numbers, route numbers, street intersections or stations, and dates.
CTA Service Changes
CTA Service Changes to bus and train schedules:
Digital Sanborn Maps
- Digital Sanborn Maps for Illinois This link opens in a new windowOn campus user: click on “Browse from ON campus” to access;
The Digital Sanborn Maps project provides online access to fire insurance maps for most cities and towns in Illinoisbetween 1867 and 1970. The maps contain information such as building footprint,construction materials,building use, and location of windows and doors, as well as street names, factory and buisness owner names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries,and house and block numbers.
Other Local Resources
- Chicago CollectionsExplore Chicago Collections lets researchers, teachers and students search many locations at once. A unified search lets you locate thousands of archival collections and digital images at member institutions all over the Chicago area including the Chicago Public Library, University of Illinois at Chicago, and the University of Chicago.
- Chicago History MuseumCHM’s mission—to share Chicago’s stories, serving as a hub of scholarship and learning, inspiration, and civic engagement—is the foundation of the Museum’s programs and events, exhibitions, educational initiatives, publications, and collecting activities that touch the lives of all Chicagoans and help them make meaningful and personal connections to history.
- Newberry LibraryA world-renowned independent research library in Chicago, the Newberry offers readers an extensive noncirculating collection of rare books, maps, music, manuscripts, and other printed material spanning six centuries. Its staff provides award-winning service and supports a rich array of programmatic opportunities.
- Ryerson & Burnham LibrariesThe Ryerson & Burnham Libraries constitute a major art and architecture research collection serving The Art Institute of Chicago and scholars in the fields of art and architectural history with more than 500,000 print titles, 100,000 auction catalogs, 1,200 current serial subscriptions, and extensive digital collections.
Annual Reports
The Transportation Library’s collection of annual reports documents the financial and operational history of transportation companies around the world from the 1820s to the present. Originally compiled for the companies’ investors, the reports contain a wealth of primary source information for researchers in the history of transportation as well as those researching transportation in the current day. Industries represented include pipeline, infrastructure, trucking, automobile, and bus companies, railroads, transit corporations, cruise ships, airlines, and federal agencies, with a particular strength in 19th century U.S. railroads.
The collection is international in scope and includes reports from such airlines as American Airlines, East African Airways, and Alitalia, among many others.
To search for a specific company, enter that company's name, together with "annual report" into the search box in the library's catalog. For example: Chicago, Burlington & Quincy "Annual Report"
Public Transportation in Chicago
- CTA Historical Information 1859-1965 byCall Number: HE4491 .C4 C532hPublication Date: 1966Transit Equipment listed by type and dates first and last used. Rapid Transit and Surface System routes including history, former routes, and service changes.
- Chronological Order of Service Changes of Chicago Transit Authority and Predecessor Companies byCall Number: HE4491 .C4 C557Publication Date: 1972Operating stations, street car routes, bus routes, off-street car/bus turnarounds, rapid transit, rapid transit stations, and park'n'ride facilities
- Chicago Transit AuthorityThe library holds nearly 500 reports, papers, and other documents produced by the CTA. Dates range from the 1940s to the present day.
- Chicago Surface LinesSearch the Transportation Library's catalog for information published by, and about, the Chicago Surface Lines.
- Chicago Rapid Transit CompanySearch the library's catalog for information on the Chicago Rapid Transit Company, a predecessor to the Chicago 'L.'
- CTA Quarterlythe library holds v.1 (1974) to v.3 no.1 (1977) of the CTA Quarterly, published by the Transit Authority's Public Affairs Department. One issue each year contains the narrative section of the Chicago Transit Authority annual report.
- CTA Transit NewsCTA Transit News was published quarterly by the Chicago Transit Authority. The library holds v.26 no.4-5 (1973) to v.43 (1990).
- CTA and Predecessor Transfer Slips and PassesTransfers and passes by date and type, with images.
