Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Digital Collections are available through libraries, archives, organizations, and governments around the world. We also subscribe to a number of databases that provide digital collections of primary sources. Listed below are some examples of digital collections that we subscribe to related to Sociology. This is by no means a comprehensive list, so please feel free to contact me if you are looking for digital collections on a particular subject or topic.
Digital Collections at Northwestern
Digital Collections contains thousands of items from Northwestern University Libraries. While only a fraction of materials from the Libraries' collections are represented, the site is representative of the distinction and diversity of collections from the Northwestern Government and Geographic Information collection, Herskovits Library of African Studies, Music Library, McCormick Library of Special Collections, Transportation Library, and University Archives.
American Indian Histories and Cultures
The wide range of material included in American Indian Histories and Cultures presents a unique insight into interactions between American Indians and Europeans from their earliest contact, continuing through the turbulence of the American Civil War, the on-going repercussions of government legislation, right up to the civil rights movement of the mid- to late-twentieth century. This resource contains material from the Newberry Library’s extensive Edward E. Ayer Collection; one of the strongest archival collections on American Indian history in the world.
Archives of Sexuality & Gender - LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940
The archive illuminates the experiences not just of the LGBTQ community as a whole, but of individuals of different races, ethnicities, ages, religions, political orientations, and geographical locations that constitute this community. Historical records of political and social organizations founded by LGBTQ individuals are featured, as well as publications by and for lesbians and gays, and extensive coverage of governmental responses to the AIDS crisis.
Black Thought and Culture
Black Thought and Culture provides non-fiction monographs, essays, articles, letters, speeches, political leaflets, and interviews written by major American black leaderscovering 250 years of history. Also includes The Black Panther newspaper and Black Panther oral histories.
Health and Society in Video
Health and Society in Video provides hundreds of documentaries, profiles, reports, and interviews related to the latest medical progress in health and wellness issues, as well as and their impact on society.
Human Rights Studies Online
Human Rights Studies Online is a research and learning database providing comparative documentation, analysis, and interpretation of major human rights violations and atrocity crimes worldwide from 1900 to 2010. The collection includes primary and secondary materials across multiple media formats and content types for each selected event, including Armenia, the Holocaust, Cambodia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Rwanda, Darfur, and more than thirty additional subjects
Japanese American Internment: Records of the Franklin D. Roosevelt Library
This publication consists of the documents from The Papers of Franklin D. Roosevelt, Small Collections, Japanese American Internment Collections, in the custody of the Franklin D. Roosevelt Library, Hyde Park, N.Y.
Latino American Experience
A full-text database focusing on the history and culture of Latinos living in the United States. Features more than 150 titles, 1500 images, hundreds of primary documents, Spanish-language content, a timeline, and 225 vetted Web sites.
Slavery, Abolition & Social Justice
This digital collection brings together primary sources from archives and libraries across the Atlantic world documenting key aspects of the history of slavery worldwide over six centuries.
U.S. Declassified Documents (formerly DDRS)
Declassified Documents Reference System is a multi-disciplinary, comprehensive source whic covers the political, social, and economic development and forces in post-World War II America. This single source enables users to locate key information underpinning studies in international relations, American studies, United States foreign and domestic policy studies, journalism and more.
Women and Social Movements, International 1840 to Present
Online archive of published and manuscript primary sources focusing on womens international activism since the mid-nineteenth century. The archive includes proceedings of womens international conferences, books, pamphlets, articles from newspapers and journals, diary entries, and memoirs. It contains numerous online publications of contemporary Non-Governmental Organizations and also includes photographs and videos of major events and activists in the history of womens international social movements.