Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Geography: Reference

About

These are recommended reference tools.

Print Reference Tools

Skinner, Malcolm, et. al.(1999). Dictionary of Geography. London: Fitzroy Dearborn.
Location: MAIN Reference (Non-circulating) 910.3 D5542

(2003). Firefly geography dictionary. Toronto: Firefly Books.
Location: MAIN Reference (Non-circulating) 910.3 F523

Warf, Barney. Ed. (2006). Encyclopedia of human geography. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications.
Location: MAIN Reference (Non-circulating) 304.203 E557

Pitzl, Gerald R. Ed. (2004). Encyclopedia of human geography. Westport, CO: Greenwood Pub..
Location: MAIN Reference (Non-circulating) 304.203 P692e

Online Reference Tools

Collins World Atlas Gazetteer
The Collins World Atlas Gazetteer features 90,000 locations. The maps are presented in a highly accessible style, displaying all the qualities for which Collins atlases are renowned: authority, accuracy, style and comprehensive coverage of the world.

Dictionary of Human Geography
Johnston, R. J. Ed. (2006). Dictionary of Human Geography. Oxford, UK : Blackwell Publishers.
Also available in print - location: MAIN Reference (Non-circulating) 910.3 D554 2000

Dictionary of Physical Geography
David S.G. Thomas & Goudie, Andrew. Ed. (2006). Dictionary of Physical Geography. Oxford, UK : Blackwell Publishers.
Also available in print - location: MAIN Reference (Non-circulating)  & MAIN Core (Non-circulating) 910.02 E56 2000

The Houghton Mifflin Dictionary of Geography
The Houghton Mifflin Dictionary of Geography. Washington, D.C.: Central Intelligence Agency.

Merriam-Webster's Geographical Dictionary
Merriam-Webster's Geographical Dictionary. Springfield, MA: Merriam-Webster.

Oxford: A Dictionary of Geography
Oxford: A Dictionary of Geography. Oxford : Oxford University Press.

Penguin Encyclopedia of Places
Penguin Encyclopedia of Places. London : Penguin.

Philip's World Factbook 2008-2009
Philip's World Factbook 2008-2009. London : Philip’s.

CIA Factbook
CIA World Factbook. Washington, D.C.: Central Intelligence Agency.
Also available in print - location: MAIN Government Information (Non-circulating) PREX 3.15: (also available from other locations in the library.)

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Kelsey Rydland
Contact:
Mudd Library, Office 2159
2333 Tech Drive, Evanston IL
847.467.7189