Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Experts from King’s College London and the University of Reading are currently making the largest collection of material on professional theatre and dramatic performance in the age of Shakespeare, available online.
Shakespeare in Performance: Prompt Books from the Folger Shakespeare Library
Shakespeare in Performance showcases rare and unique prompt books from the world-famous Folger Shakespeare Library.
Renaissance Festival Books
From the British Library: View 253 digitised Renaissance festival books (selected from over 2,000 in the British Library's collection) that describe the magnificent festivals and ceremonies that took place in Europe between 1475 and 1700 - marriages and funerals of royalty and nobility, coronations, stately entries into cities and other grand events.
John Johnson Collection: An Archive of Printed Ephemera
Provides access to 67,754 scanned items (a total of 174,196 images), including more than 20,700 pieces of theatrical and non-theatrical ephemera from the nineteenth-century entertainment category. Other materials include items from theBooktrade, Popular Prints, Crimes, Murders and Executions, and Advertising
Victorian Popular Culture
Victorian Popular Culture is a resource for the study of popular entertainment in the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online: Religion, Society, Spirituality, and Reform
Northwestern subscribes to 6 modules. Of particular interest is BRITISH THEATRE MUSIC AND LITERATURE which contains playbills, scripts and scores among other ephemera.
Opera in Video
Contains five hundred hours of opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries.
Rock and Roll, Counterculture, Peace and Protest: Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975
Rock and Roll, Counterculture, Peace and Protest contains materials about popular culture in the U.S. and U.K. from 1950 to 1975. Topics include student protests, civil rights, consumerism, and the Vietnam War.
Theatre in Video
Contains more than 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video.