Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
English Prose Drama
Contains plays published in English prose from the early sixteenth century to the end of the nineteenth century by writers from the British Isles
Eighteenth Century Collection Online
Full-text searchable facsimile page displays of approximately 150,000 books published in Britain and its colonies during the 18th century. Most of these titles are also represented in NUcat by individual records.
Early English Books Online EEBO
Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War."
English Verse Drama
More than 2,000 works by 450 named authors and approximately 230 anonymous works. English Verse Drama contains works acted on or intended for the stage, which are either wholly or predominantly in verse. Any accompanying text written by the playwright and forming an integral part of the work, such as epigraphs, dramatis personae and notes, is generally also included.
American Drama 1714-1915
Contains more than 1,500 dramatic works from the early eighteenth century up to the beginning of the twentieth, American Drama includes verse, farces, melodramas, minstrel shows, realist plays, and frontier plays.
Northwestern owns thousands of scripts. Look them up by author/title in NUcat