Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Scripts: Print editions
Northwestern owns thousands of scripts. Look them up by author/title in NUSearch.
Monologue books are also available. Search NUseach: book tab, Advance Search, Subject: monologues.
Use book tab for print resources
Plays, scenes and books about playwriting that have come into the library in the past 2 years (may be new editions of old plays):
New plays and play editions
Monologues and Scenes
Contains a "monologue search" option for the plays within the database.
There are a number of books containing monologues. Search for Monologues using NUsearch's Subject Browse . We have a 4 volume set of scenes for actors: The Ultimate Scene Study Series on 3 South in the library: 808.82.U47.
Asian American Drama
This edition of Asian American Drama contains 252 plays by 42 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. Some 50% of these plays have never been published before. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.
Black Drama: Second Edition
Contains full text of more than 1,200 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 200 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. More than 40 percent of the collection consists of previously unpublished plays.Includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.
Access limited to text and images of selected collections of plays. Video and audio not included with our access.
Includes the full text of plays from across the history of the theatre, ranging from Aeschylus to the present day. Includes non-English-language works in translation, scholarly and critical editions, first night program texts, and critical analysis and contextual information.
Latino Literature brings together more than 100,000 pages pages of poetry, fiction, and over 450 plays written in English and Spanish by hundreds of Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican, and other Latino authors working in the United States. Among the collection are nearly 800 items (poems, novels, and plays) that have never been published before.
North American Indian Drama
Full text of plays by American Indian, First Nation, and Pacific Islanders playwrights of the 20th century; information about the plays and their production, and biographical data.
2,500 published plays from throughout the English-speaking world, covering the history of modern drama from the 1890s to the present day.
Index to Plays
Database allows one simultaneous user at a time. Please select exit button in upper right corner when finished.
Allows you to locate over 30,000 plays by author, title, subject, and cast size.
Guide to Play Publication