Research Guides: CHEM 105-6: The Quantum World from the Ground Up (Bancroft): Finding Articles

Finding Articles

Databases provide access to articles. Some databases are subject specific and others cover multiple disciplines. Try your search terms in multiple databases to see what types of material you find.

You may see terms such as scholarly, popular, journals, trade publications, and peer-reviewed. If you need clarification of any of these terms, check out the guide on Evaluating Articles

What if NU Library does not have the article that I need?

Some databases provide full text while others only provide references to articles. Use the purple "Find it @ NU" button to locate full text access to the article.

If an article is not available at Northwestern University Library, you may request it via Interlibrary Loan (ILL). See here to submit a request.

STEM

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as published proceedings for over 12,000 conferences per year, and over 50,000 scholarly books.Powerful tools allow you to search and see what articles in the database have cited a particular work, as well as perform other analytics.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed was developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). It was developed in conjunction with publishers of biomedical literature as a search tool for accessing literature citations and linking to full-text journals at web sites of participating publishers.
History of Science, Technology, and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Integrates four bibliographies to create the definitive international database for the history of science, technology, and medicine. It reflects the influences of these fields on society and culture from prehistory to the present and offers outstanding value for interdisciplinary research.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database, including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, quality web sources. Subject coverage : Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and Engineering ; Life and Health Sciences ; Social Sciences, Psychology and Economics ; Biological, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences

Multidisciplinary

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary database provides access to articles from journals, magazines, and reference sources across all subject areas. Coverage is primarily from 1980 to the present, with some older content.