Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIST 395: Prison Nation: The Rise of Mass Incarceration in the United States (Rosen): Reference Resources

Language Dictionaries

Biographical Sources

 

 

Reference and Research Databases

Black Studies Center.  Black Studies Center combines invaluable resources for research and teaching in  Black Studies: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP), Black Literature Index, The Chicago Defender as well as many other resources.  This fully cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies to includes scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, and much more.

Gale e-books.  Searchable database of several hundred subject encyclopedias and other reference works across all subject areas, but with particular strengths in the social sciences and humanities. It includes a number of major reference works, and is Northwesterns largest single collection of reference materials. A good source for authoritative background information.

Oxford Bibliographies Online. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2010. Online bibliographies of topics in Atlantic history,  political science, and much more.  Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on specific topics in a growing range of subject areas.

Oxford Reference Online.  Multi-part database of the online versions of seminal Oxford University Press texts. Each topical division contains the searchable version of the latest edition of published dictionaries and encyclopedias