Skip to Main Content

First-Year Writing Seminars: Example Templates and Activities: Cite Sources

Short Video: Examining Citations (What is a citation and why is it important)

Chicago Style Guides

MLA Style Guides

How to Generate Citations in Research Databases

  1. An example from NUsearch, the NU Library’s search tool:

An example of how to generate a citation within NUsearch, the NU Libraries search tool. Within a book or article record, click on the quotation icon in the upper right, then select your preferred citation style format.

2.  An example from a research database, Sociological Abstracts :

An example of how to generate a citation within Sociological Abstracts, a research database. Within an article record, click on the quotation icon in the upper right, then select your preferred citation style format.

Citation Management Software

Citation Management Software: EndNote, Zotero, Mendeley.  All of these programs can:

  • store references in one place 
  • export citations directly from databases 
  • automatically format bibliographies and citations in MLA, APA, Chicago Manual of Style, or thousands of other styles 
  • keep reading notes linked to sources 
  • insert citations directly into Word
  • attach files to your references and more!

Help with Citation Management: Citation Workshops this Quarter

Workshops

-How to use EndNote

-How to use Zotero

You can register for quarterly workshops from the Library Events page.

If you have any questions, please contact the library's bibliographic support team.