Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
NU Library Subscription Databases
Hein Online This link opens in a new window
A collection of legal research materials, including law journals (many of which date back to the 1800s) and a wide range of primary sources on the history of Anglo-American law.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
In addition to decisions of the US Supreme Court (1790-present), this database provides access to decisions of the following: The United States Courts of Appeal from 1789; The United States District Courts from 1789; The United States Bankruptcy Courts from October 1979; Federal Circuit Courts (1st-11th Circuit, DC Circuit, Federal Circuit) and various specialty federal courts.
Public, Free and Open Access Sites
govinfo.gov: US Courts Opinions
Access to opinions from selected U.S. appellate, district, and bankruptcy courts. Incomplete content, dating back to April 2004.
US Supreme Court Opinions
From the Supreme Court site, 1991-current.
Findlaw: US Supreme Court Opinions, Decisions
FindLaw's searchable database of U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1760. Supreme Court opinions are browsable by year and U.S. Reports volume number, and are searchable by party name, case title, citation, full text and docket number. FindLaw maintains an archive of Supreme Court opinion summaries from September 2000 to the present.
LII: Legal Information Institute
Open access to legal materials, including: annotated version of the constitution, federal statutes, Supreme Court decisions, CFR, and more.
Free Legal Research Resources (Harvard Law Library)
A collection of links to sites for Federal and State Law.
The RECAP Archive is a searchable collection of millions of PACER documents and dockets that were gathered using our RECAP Extensions for Firefox and Chrome. PACER is the government-run system where nearly every legal document is filed from federal cases. The archive also includes every free PACER opinion. This unique archive was created to partially address what we see as the PACER Problem.