Your Librarian
Research Services
University Library
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston, IL 60208
Access to the Libraries & Library Materials
The Updates to Fall Library Services page provides regular updates on resources and services. This website includes information on:
- Access to physical books
- Scanning and book pick-up
- Interlibrary loan
- Non-circulating materials and special collections
See the video NU Libraries Primer: Welcome to Your Library
- Information on remotely accessing the Libraries, finding resources, and getting help
Digital versions of books are usually listed in NUsearch. From the drop-down menu, search using the "Books & Multimedia" tab or the "Books, Images, and More" tab, then check full record for format options.
Need specialized research help? Email library@northwestern.edu or contact a subject specialist. Live chat with a librarian Monday-Thursday 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM and Friday 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM.
Key Resources for Research
The following are a couple of key resouces for this class; please check out the tabs for books, articles, and reference tools for additional important resources. Consult the guide Start Your Research for tips on research methods, practical skills, citation tools, and more.
- NUsearch This link opens in a new windowNUsearch is the main search tool for Northwestern University Library, combining the library catalog with a wealth of other databases and online collections.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowThis multidisciplinary database provides access to articles from journals, magazines, and reference sources across all subject areas. Coverage is primarily from 1980 to the present, with some older content.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowCompiled by the Modern Language Association, the MLA International Bibliography lists articles and books in the fields of literature, language, and linguistics in the modern languages, as well as folklore, film studies, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, and historical aspects of printing and publishing.
- Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new windowThe Philosopher's Index provides access to articles in the field of philosophy published in journals and books since 1940. For many years the standard index to the philosophical literature.
