Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Access to the Libraries
For up-to-date information on access to the libraries and collections, see Updates to Fall Library Services. This web site provides information about many resources and services, including:
- Book request and pickup
- Non-circulating materials and special collections access
- Remote access
- Reservable study spaces
- Interlibrary loan
Finding Library Materials
Use NUsearch, to find books, journals, microfilms, and other library materials, including primary sources. Click here for some search tips.
The libraries provide access to many materials in electronic form, on several different platforms. Click here for some tips on maximizing your use of e-books.
Need further help? Contact a subject specialist, set up a one-on-one research consultation, contact the libraries via live chat, or email firstname.lastname@example.org.
Hathi Trust Digital Library
A partnership of more than sixty major research institutions with Google, the Hathi Trust Digital Library includes all the book images from these libraries that have been digitized by Google. Only out-of-copyright images (generally pre-1923) can be displayed, or others where the permission of the copyright holder has been obtained, though both in-copyright and out-of-copyright materials can be searched. Out-of-copyright books can be downloaded by Northwestern users who register with the site.
Journal and Magazine Articles
The databases listed below will provide indexing to journal articles. Readers' Guide provides very limited full text. JSTOR provides full-text. Academic OneFile, Academic Search Complete and America History & Life provide some full-text. When using these latter databases, click the button to track down the full text of articles, if the full text is not already available in the database. To find these and other databases or other electronic resources from NU Libraries, you can also go to Databases A-Z,.
America: History & Life
America: History & Life is an index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. The database indexes journals from 1964 to the present and also includes citations and links to book and media reviews. Strong English-language journal coverage but also included are abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.
Academic Search Complete
This multidisciplinary database provides access to articles from journals, magazines, and reference sources across all subject areas. Coverage is primarily from 1980 to the present, with some older content.
Digitized, full-text versions of core scholarly journals across disciplines.While coverage of these journals goes back to the first issue, for most journals the most recent issues will be for 3-5 years ago.
Readers' Guide Retrospective 1890-1982
Indexes articles published in the most important popular magazines published in the United States from 1890 until 1982.Provides some links to full text. A key resource for identifying what was published in the popular press during this era.