Research Guides: IS_395: AI is Eating the World: Market for AI (Lehoucq): Find Articles

Sociology

Email Me

Contact:

2North-Core
Northwestern University Library
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston, IL 60208
847-491-2171
jkruse@northwestern.edu

Subjects: Sociology

Scholarly Articles

Articles usually have a specific focus, are relatively short, and are relatively current. Use databases to track down articles in journals.

A-Z Databases
A-Z list of databases available through the Northwestern University Libraries.
Evaluating Articles
Magazines, journals, scholarly, popular, peer-reviewed...?? If you've ever run across any or a combination of these terms and needed clarification on their distinct meanings, this page aims to provide it.

Scholarly Journals

Specialized journals are more likely to have articles directly relevant for your topic. You can both look at the latest issues and search exclusively within a journal.

Subject-Specific Article Databases

Browse subject guides for suggestions on where to start in different subject areas.

Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Sociological Abstracts provides citations and abstracts to international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Content coverage includes culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, race and ethnicity, social change and economic development, and more. 1952-Present. Individual publication coverage varies by title.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) This link opens in a new window
The International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) provides citations in social science and interdisciplinary research, with broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries. Subject areas include sociology, political science, economics, anthropology, ethnography, demography, education and more. 1951-Present. Individual publication coverage varies by title.
ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window
Search worldwide business periodicals for in-depth coverage of business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory, and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Citations with abstracts from more than 1,100 journals in political science and related disciplines. Coverage is international in scope, combining the former Political Science Abstracts and ABC POL SCI databases.

Multi-disciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary database provides access to articles from journals, magazines, and reference sources across all subject areas. Coverage is primarily from 1980 to the present, with some older content.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar searches academic publishers, professional societies and pre-print archives.