Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
For your research projects, there are several specialty journals which regularly publish on topics of gender, social policy, social movements and politics (and of course you can also find gender-related research published in the main disciplinary journals).
Finding Articles in Databases
Articles usually have a specific focus, are relatively short, and are relatively current. You can use databases to find journal articles. To see what the library has, you can go to the Databases A-Z list or browse research guides for suggestions on where to start in different subject areas.
Gender Studies Database
Gender Studies Database combines the Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. GSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship.
Studies on Women and Gender Abstracts
An international abstracting service designed to meet the information needs of all those working, teaching, studying or researching into any of the main areas of women's studies.
A full text database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas.
Sociological Abstracts provides citations and abstracts to international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Content coverage includes culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, race and ethnicity, social change and economic development, and more. 1952-Present. Individual publication coverage varies by title.
Gale OneFile: Gender Studies
Provides access to hundreds of thousands of articles with coverage on such topics as gender studies, sexual behavior surveys, family and marital issues, conversion therapy, gay and lesbian rights, homophobia, health aspects and more. Leading journals in the field are covered and updated daily.
Finding Full-text of Articles
Not all databases will have full-text for every article. Click and it will check our other databases for full-text. If we don't have access to the full-text, you will be given the option to place an Interlibrary Loan request for the article
While we cannot currently get physical items from other libraries right now, you can still place interlibrary loan requests for content already available in digital format.
Magazines, journals, scholarly, popular, peer-reviewed...?? If you've ever run across any or a combination of these terms and needed clarification on their distinct meanings, this page aims to provide it.