Digitized Northwestern Publications
Daily Northwestern: Contains the full text images of the Daily Northwestern (1910-present - most recent 1 year not available) and related titles the Northwestern (1881- 1910), the Vidette (1878 - 1880), and the Tripod (1871 - 1880). Instructions for searching the Daily Northwestern
Syllabus (Yearbook), 1887-1922
The Purple Parrot, 1921-1950: The Purple Parrot was a humor magazine contains short stories, poetry, essays, jokes, and a variety of advertisements. The Parrot parodied all aspects of life at Northwestern: Greek life, notable faculty members, college romance, and even the Daily Northwestern, NU’s student newspaper (which was lampooned in the Purple Parrot as “The Dilly”).
Digitized Collections
- NUL Digital Collections This link opens in a new windowNUL Digital Collections contains thousands of items from Northwestern University Libraries. While only a fraction of materials from the Libraries' collections are represented, the site is representative of the distinction and diversity of collections from the Northwestern Government and Geographic Information collection, Herskovits Library of African Studies, Music Library, McCormick Library of Special Collections and University Archives, and Transportation Library. The collections contain a wide range of media and include many primary sources covering many topics.
- NUL Audio + Video Repository This link opens in a new windowNUL Audio + Video Repository contains thousands of audiovisual items from Northwestern University Libraries. While only a fraction of materials from the Libraries' collections are represented, the site is representative of the distinction and diversity of collections from the , Herskovits Library of African Studies, Music Library, McCormick Library of Special Collections and University Archives, and Transportation Library.
- Northwestern University Web Archive This link opens in a new windowSearch and explore hundreds of archived websites that complement Northwestern University Archives’ manuscript collections and record groups and include content created by individuals associated with Northwestern including faculty, staff, students, and alumni, as well as Northwestern-related publications, associated entities within the local community, and other relevant content.
Chicago Collections Consortium
Chicago Collections features archival collections, including digitized images, from institutions from across the city.
Oral History
- HistoryMakers Digital Archive This link opens in a new windowHistory Makers is the largest African American oral video history archive in the world. Provides access to over 61,221 stories from oral history interviews with 1,195 historically significant African Americans are currently available.
External Research Databases
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowFull-text and full-image articles from: The Atlanta Constitution (1868-1984), Atlanta Daily World (1931-2010), The Baltimore Afro-American (1893-2010), The Baltimore Sun (1837-1996), The Boston Globe (1872-1990), Chicago Defender (1909 - 2010), Chicago Tribune (1849-2013), Chinese Newspapers Collection (1832 - 1953), Christian Science Monitor (1908-2009), The Cincinnati Enquirer (1841-1922), Cleveland Call and Post (1934–2010), Detroit Free Press (1831-1999), The Guardian and the Observer (1791-2003), Irish Times and the Weekly Irish Times (1859-2020), The Jewish Advocate (1905-1990), The Jewish Exponent (1887-1990), Kansas City Call (1919-2010), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2010), Los Angeles Times (1881-2014), Louisville Defender (1951-2010), Michigan Chronicle (1939-2010), Minneapolis Star Tribune (1867-2001), New York Amsterdam News (1922-2010), The New York Times (1851-2018), New York Tribune / Herald Tribune (1841-1962), Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2010), Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2010), Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2010), St. Louis Post-Dispatch (1874-2003), St. Louis American (1949-2010), The Times of India (1838-2001), The Wall Street Journal (1889-2010), The Washington Post (1877-2006), Le Monde (1944-2000), Indianapolis Star (1903-2004)
- ProQuest Black Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowFull text and full-image articles from African American newspapers: Atlanta daily world (1931-2010), Baltimore Afro-American (1893-2010), Chicago defender (1909-2010), Cleveland call & post (1934-2010), Kansas City Call (1919-2010), Los Angeles sentinel (1934-2010), Michigan Chronicle (1939-2010), New York Amsterdam news (1922-2010), Norfolk journal & guide (1916-2010), Philadelphia tribune (1912-2010), Louisville Defender (1951-2010) and the Pittsburgh courier (1911-2010), St. Louis American (1949-2010). For most titles, the collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue, cover to cover, in downloadable PDF files.
- Illinois Newspaper Project Database This link opens in a new windowThis database includes newspaper titles which have been inventoried and cataloged by both the Down-State Illinois Newspaper Project, located atthe University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, and the Chicago Illinois Newspaper Project, housed at the Chicago Historical Society. This database is meant to be used as a reference point from which newspaper title and holdings information can be located.
- Digital Sanborn Maps for Illinois This link opens in a new windowOn campus user: click on “Browse from ON campus” to access;
The Digital Sanborn Maps project provides online access to fire insurance maps for most cities and towns in Illinoisbetween 1867 and 1970. The maps contain information such as building footprint,construction materials,building use, and location of windows and doors, as well as street names, factory and buisness owner names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries,and house and block numbers. - Illinois During the Gilded Age This link opens in a new windowPresents primary source materials which shed light on major themes in Illinois society, politics, and culture during this period
Books
Friends Disappear by ISBN: 9780226156637Publication Date: 2014-11-01In Friends Disappear Barr goes back to her old neighborhood and pieces together a history of Evanston with a particular emphasis on its neighborhoods, its schools, and its work life. She finds that there is a detrimental myth of integration surrounding Evanston despite bountiful evidence of actual segregation, both in the archives and from the life stories of her subjects. Curiously, the city’s own desegregation plan is partly to blame. The initiative called for the redistribution of students from an all-black elementary school to institutions situated in white neighborhoods. That, however, required busing, and between the tensions it generated and obvious markers of class difference, the racial divide, far from being closed, was widened. Friends Disappear highlights how racial divides limited the life chances of blacks while providing opportunities for whites, and offers an insider’s perspective on the social practices that doled out benefits and penalties based on race—despite attempts to integrate.
