Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Related Northwestern University Library Guides & Collections
Center for Research Libraries (CRL) Microfilm Collections
Includes guides to Civilian Conservation Corps Camp newspapers, African American newspapers, Ethnic Press, Underground & Alternative Press
Chicago Historical Newspapers
America's Historical Newspapers
America's Historical Newspapers allow you to search and browse American newspapers published across three centuries. It includes thousands of titles from all 50 states and chronicles the evolution of American culture and daily life from 1690 to the recent past.
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998, provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection, which includes papers from more than 35 states, features many rare and historically significant 19th-century titles.
African American Periodicals, 1825-1995
Features more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans andcan be cross-searched with African American Newspapers, Afro-Americana Imprints and other Archive of Americana collections. Publications include academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations bulletins, annual reports and other genres.
Full-text of the Defender is provided through the Black Studies Center, a gateway to primary source material. Use the NEWSPAPERS link to browse the paper chronologically.
Full-text of the Daily Defender is provided through the Black Studies Center, a gateway to primary source material. Use the NEWSPAPERS link to browse the paper chronologically.
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980
Five Illinois papers are included in this digital archive of 19th and 20th century Spanish-language newspapers.
Hyde Park Herald
The online archive of The Hyde Park Herald provides a searchable history of the Hyde Park neighborhood on Chicago's South Side. To see 2010-present
Illinois Newspaper Project
Newspaper titles which have been inventoried and cataloged by both the Down-State Illinois Newspaper Project, located at the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, and the Chicago Illinois Newspaper Project, housed at the Chicago Historical Society.
19th Century U.S. Newspapers Digital Archive
Use the LIMIT SEARCH box to "Browse Places of Publication". Chicago, Evanston, Nauvoo, and Shawnee Town are the Illinois cities included.
U.S. Newspaper Directory, 1690-present
From the Library of Congress. This directory of newspapers published in the United States since 1690 can help identify what titles exist for a specific place and time, and how to access them. Use the options below to select a particular place and time, using keywords to locate specific titles.
ProQuest Digital Microfilm
ProQuest Digital Microfilm offers full-text articles of newspapers digitized from microfilm. It includes the Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, Wall Street journal, Washington Post, New York Times, American Banker, Barron's Boston Globe and USA Today. Coverage for most papers goes back to 2008 and up to about 2-3 months ago.
Current Chicago Newspapers
News Sources: Chicago Area Newspapers
of the following papers are linked from this page:
- Chicago Tribune
- Chicago Sun-Times
- Chicago Daily News
- Chicago Defender
- Crain's Chicago Business
- Daily Northwestern
- Evanston Review
Meet the Press
NBCs Meet the Press is broadcast-televisions longest-running program, with interviews, panels and debates from across the political spectrum. The collection includes streaming video of every surviving program from the shows inception in 1947 through the present day.