Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
About this research guide
This research guide includes links to databases, sites and resources to help you locate sources for research in this class. Feel free to refer to the tabs for business research, books, articles, citing sources and other tabs.
Background research sources may include encyclopedia entries, topical reports, and even broad overview books and other sources. As with Mergent Intellect, they may also provide broad background on companies and industries.
Mergent Intellect is a flexible web-based application that offers access to business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, and industry profiles for private and public U.S and international companies.
As of 2019 this product contains the content of Hoover's Online.
CQ Researcher Plus Archive
The CQ Researcher is a collection of reports covering political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy.
Searchable database of several hundred subject encyclopedias and other reference works across all subject areas, but with particular strengths in the social sciences and humanities. It includes a number of major reference works, and is Northwesterns largest single collection of reference materials. A good source for authoritative background information.