Last Updated: Dec 20, 2010
URL: http://libguides.northwestern.edu/wikileaks
Print Guide
- Academic OneFile
A search on the phrase Julian Assange will produce over 40 citations to magazine articles, over 400 citations to news articles and over 20 news transcripts. A search on Bradley Manning will produce several magazine and news articles as well some news transcripts. A search on Wikileaks will produce citations to 10 articles published in academic journals as well as citations to numerous news articles, magazine articles, and news transcripts.
- Academic Search Premier
Searches on Julian Assange, Bradley Manning, and Wikileaks will produce numerous citations to magazine and news articles.
- Lexis Nexis
Searching on the terms Julian Assange, Bradley Manning, and Wikileaks will produce hundreds of news articles, blog entries, news transcripts and press releases concerning Wikileaks.
- Communication & mass media complete
A search on the term Wikileaks will return citations (some with full text) to a number of articles that concern the release of information by Wikileaks.
- Library Press Display
Provides cover to cover access to newspapers from around the world. Access is limited to the most recent 60 days. Some potential searches include:
- Julian Assange and issues
- Wikileaks
- Bradley Manning
- Policy File
This database contains the following report: Wikileaks and the Real Face of Modern War
by Anthony H Cordesman, at The Center for Strategic and International Studies, Publication Date: October 24, 2010
- Vanderbilt Television News Archive
The Vanderbilt Television News Archive will provide online footage of CNN and NBC news broadcasts that cover WIkileaks. In addition this database will provide citations to broadcasts by CBS and ABC that can be requested from the archive through Interlibrary loan.
Reference Books
The following works, while not recent enough to contain information on wikileaks, do provide a good overview on issues of national security and secrecy.
- Censorship : a world encyclopedia / editor, Derek Jones.
London : Fitzroy Dearborn, 2001
Location: MAIN Reference (Non-circulating) Call number: L 363.31 C39567
This work includes an essay titled Secrecy and State Security
- Encyclopedia of media and politics / edited by Todd M. Schaefer, Thomas A. Birkland.
Washington, D.C. : CQ Press, 2007
Location: MAIN Reference (Non-circulating) Call number: L 363.31 C39567
Of interest may be the relatively brief entries on National Security and the Pentagon Papers. Also see entries New York Times and Branzburg v. Hayes (1972).
- History of the mass media in the United States : an encyclopedia / edited by Margaret A. Blanchard ; commissioning editor Carol J. Burwash.
Chicago : Fitzroy Dearborn, 1999
Location: MAIN Reference (Non-circulating) Call number: L 302.23097 H673
While dating from 1999, this work does provide an essay on the issue of Prior Restraint which refers to government efforts to restrict the publication of a news item. Other essays possibly of interest in this work include First Amendment in the Twentieth Century, and Pentagon Papers.
- West’s encyclopedia of American law / Jeffrey Lehman, editor, Shirelle Phelps, editor.
Detroit : Thomson/Gale, 2004
Location: MAIN Reference (Encyclopedia case) (Non-circulating) 348.7303 W538 2004
3rd edition available:Online
This 14 volume work includes the following entries that approach the issues of how much control the federal government can exercise over a media organization releasing potentially embarrassing or damaging information:
- Prior Restraint
- Near v. Minnesota.
- New York Times Co. v. United States
- Freedom of the Press
- Encyclopedia of espionage, intelligence, and security K. Lee Lerner and Brenda Wilmoth Lerner, editors.
Detroit : Thomson/Gale, 2004
Location: MAIN Reference (Non-circulating) Call number: 327.1203 E557
Books in the general collection
- Necessary secrets : national security, the media, and the rule of law / Gabriel Schoenfeld.
New York : W. W. Norton & Co., 2010
Location: MAIN Library Call number: 323.44509 S365n
- Global journalism : topical issues and media systems / edited by Arnold S. de Beer ; preface by John C. Merrill.
Boston : Pearson, Allyn and Bacon, 2009
Location: MAIN Library Call number: 070.4 G562 2009
- Major principles of media law / Wayne Overbeck.
[Belmont, Calif.] : Thomson Wadsworth, 2005
Location: MAIN Library Call number: 343.73099 O96m 2005
- Journalists, shield laws and the First Amendment : is the fourth estate under attack? / Ulan C. Pracene, editor.
New York: Novinka Books, Nova Science Publishers, Inc., 2005
Location: MAIN Library Call number: 342.73085 J86
- Al Jazeera effect : how the new global media are reshaping world politics / Philip Seib.
Washington, D.C. : Potomac Books, 2008
Location: MAIN Library Call number: 070.195 S457a