Skip to main content
Faculty & Staff
Alumni & Visitors
Find, Borrow, Request
Catalogs & Search Tools
Explore our catalog, find databasess and journals, or locate books in our stacks.
View and access items set aside by your instructor.
Learn about our lending policies and procedures.
Requests & Interlibrary Loan
Request items from other libraries. Place holds on or request our items.
Scan or copy library materials.
Find subject experts who can guide your research.
Request a research consultation, instruction session or stop by our reference desk.
Scholarly Research Services
Get training and technical solutions for conducting and disseminating research.
Research Tools & Guides
Access databases, e-journals, research guides and more.
Contact a librarian via phone, email or instant message.
Find operating hours and assistance availability.
Events & Exhibits
Attend an exhibit, workshop or other events.
Visitor Privileges & Resources
Learn about guest access to materials and more.
Navigate our Libraries using our maps and book location guide.
Classrooms & Study Spaces
Reserve a study space, carrel, viewing room or classroom.
Technology and Computing
Use computer labs, printers, equipment and more.
Libraries & Collections
Reserve a Study Room
Printers and Printing
Book Location Guide
Libraries and Collections
University (Main) Library
Galter Health Sciences Library
Government & Geographic Information Collection
Herskovits Library of African Studies
McCormick Library of Special Collections
Mitchell Multimedia Center
Oak Grove Library Center
Pritzker Legal Research Center
Find facts, figures and procedures for our Libraries.
News & Announcements
Read about projects and more through our news and blogs.
Join our team as a librarian, staffer or student worker.
Learn about the working groups that make the Libraries run.
Support the Libraries
Donations of books, printed material or financial contributions are appreciated.
Contact the Library
Speak with a staffer, suggest a purchase or provide feedback.
Theatre and Performance Studies
Search this Guide
Theatre and Performance Studies: Getting Started
Resources in theatre and drama for the Northwestern University Community
Plays & Monologues
Plays: Pre-20th Century
Theatre on video/Visual Resources
Recommended Web Sites
NUsearch: the Library Catalog
NUsearch is the main search tool for Northwestern University Library, combining the library catalog with a wealth of other databases and online collections.
Department of Theatre
1949 Campus Drive
Evanston, IL 60208
Theatre Department Web Site
Related Research Guides
Film and Television
Theatre at Northwestern University: Archives
Department of Performance Studies
1920 Campus Drive
Evanston, IL 60208
Performance Studies Web Site
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance
Contains journal articles, books, book articles and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries. Covers 1984-present.
Performing Arts Database (formerly International Index to Performing Arts)
Provides access to articles published in more than 200 international journals and magazines in the performing arts, including dance, film, drama/theater, stagecraft, and performance business, mostly from 1998 onwards.
MLA International Bibliography
The place to start to look for scholarly articles about theatre and drama. Dates back to 1925.
Literature Resource Center
Full text criticism and biographical information for over 100,000 authors, including playwrights.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance
2 North: Core
1970 Campus Drive
Comparative Literary Studies
Oct 12, 2017 11:26 AM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.