Last Updated: Mar 1, 2011
- Lexis Nexis Academic
Lexis Nexis contains the full text of thousands of news sources from around the country making it a particularly valuable source for research the state budget crises.
Tip: Once you have entered the database go to power search and then select to search All News (English) sources and limit your results to the current date or previous week for up to date news stories:
- Access World News
This database provides full text articles from over 600 U.S. newspapers. Try some searches using keywords like budget, state's names, deficit and other terms as well.
- Library Press Display
Provides complete coverage of the most recent sixty days of newspapers from around the world including many from the United States. All titles are displayed in their original format.
- PAIS International
This database contains references to more than 460,000 journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. You will find numerous references to state budget problems with the following searches:
- state and fiscal and cris*
- state* and pension reform
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
This database contains citations with abstract from more than 1100 journals in political science and related disciplines. Simply entering a search on state budget* will obtain a number of relevant citations.
- Book of the states./
Lexington, Ky. [etc.] Council of State Governments, 1935-
Location: MAIN Government Info (Supplemental ref.) (Non-circulating) Call number: 353.9 B724
Latest shelved in Government Reference Room (STATE AREA)
This almanac of statistics on all of the states includes a chapter on state finance that includes many tables and articles related to all aspects of state economic issues.
- Cultures of the states : a handbook on the effectiveness of state governments/ Jack Frymier, Arliss Roaden.
Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 2003
Location: MAIN Reference (Non-circulating) Call number: 320.973 F948c
This book presents a comparison of the states and how they handle issues and execute policy. Included is a brief essay describing particular problems specific to each state as well as tabular data comparing the states in a wide variety of areas including education, expenditures, health, and crime.
- Political encyclopedia of U.S. states and regions / general editor, Donald P. Haider-Markel ; regional editors, Michael A. Card ... [et al.].
Washington, D.C. : CQ Press, 2009
Location: MAIN Reference (Non-circulating) Call number: 320.97303 P769
This two volume set includes is organized into four broad areas: Northeast, South, West, and Midwest. Within each of these sections are essays on each state. Each state essay includes information on the state's political environment, elections and voters, the legislative, executive and judicial branches of government, as well as intergovernmental relations and long term policy trends. Volume 2 also offers several statistical tables comparing a variety of data from each state.
Books in the General Collection
- Fiscal challenges : an interdisciplinary approach to budget policy/ edited by Elizabeth Garrett, Elizabeth A. Graddy, Howell E. Jackson.
Cambridge ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2008
MAIN Library Call number: 352.48097 F528
- Wisconsin politics and government : America’s laboratory of democracy / James K. Conant.
Lincoln : University of Nebraska Press, 2006
MAIN Library Call number: 320.9775 C743w
- Volatile states : institutions, policy, and the performance of American state economies / W. Mark Crain.
Ann Arbor : University of Michigan Press, 2003.
MAIN Library Call number: 330.97309 C887v
- Policy and politics in state budgeting/ Kurt M. Thurmaier and Katherine G. Willoughby.
Armonk, N.Y. : M.E. Sharpe, 2001
MAIN Library Call number: 352.48213 T539p