Research Guides: *Spanish & Portuguese: Find Scholarly Articles

Searching for Scholarly Articles

There are several places to find Spanish- or Portuguese-language scholarly articles. Northwestern University Libraries subscribes to several large databases which may include English-language scholarship on Spanish- or Portuguese-speaking countries. Check "Getting Started" Tab on this Research Guide, and/or the Research Guides for Anthropology, English, History, Latino Studies, Political Science, Sociology, and/or JSTOR for lists of general disciplinary databases for each subject. Below are more specialized resources in Spanish and Portuguese, on topics relevant to African, Caribbean, Iberian, or Latin American Studies.

Finding Scholarly Journal Articles in Spanish/Portuguese

HAPI Online: Hispanic American Periodicals Index This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to articles about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the U.S.-Mexico border, and Hispanics in the U.S. Covers 1970-present.
HLAS: Handbook of Latin American Studies This link opens in a new window
The Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Each year, more than 130 academics from around the world choose over 5,000 works for inclusion in the Handbook. Continuously published since 1936, the Handbook offers Latin Americanists an essential guide to available resources.

Dialnet
Provides access to tables of contents of more than 3,000 journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences published in Spain and Latin America.
more...less...
Also, provides access to the full text of some Spanish doctoral dissertations as well as the full text of working papers from some research centers in Spain and Latin America.
Bases de datos bibliográficas del CSIC
Spanish National Research Council (CSIC) produces since 1971 three free access bibliographic databases with references to articles published in mainly Spanish scientific journals.

Clase and Periodica This link opens in a new window
Indexes materials published in Latin America in Spanish, Portuguese, French and English specializing in the social sciences, humanities, and science and technology. Contains information from articles, essays, book reviews, monographs, conference proceedings, technical reports, interviews and brief notes published in journals edited in 24 different countries of Latin America and the Caribbean, as well as from publications that focus on Pan-American issues.

Red de Bibliotecas Virtuales de CLACSO
Single search database for Redalyc, Scielo, LatIndex, RevistALAS, DOAJ, Dialnet, and CLASE, sponsored by el Consejo Latinoamericano de Ciencias Sociales.

SciELO - Scientific Electronic Library Online This link opens in a new window
SciELO - Scientific Electronic Library Online is a model for cooperative electronic publishing of scientific journals on the Internet. Especially conceived to meet the scientific communication needs of developing countries, particularly Latin America and the Caribbean countries. It contains about 500 journals and nearly 150.000 articles published in Latin America, Caribbean countries, Portugal and Spain. Most of the titles are Open Access.

CLASE
CLASE es una base de datos bibliográfica creada en 1975 en la Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM). Ofrece alrededor de 350 mil registros bibliográficos de artículos, ensayos, reseñas de libro, revisiones bibliográficas, notas breves, editoriales, biografías, entrevistas, estadísticas y otros documentos publicados en cerca de 1 500 revistas de América Latina y el Caribe, especializadas en ciencias sociales y humanidades.
DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals)
Indexes articles appearing in Open Access journals. As of September 2015, from a total of 10,529 Open Access journals registered in DOAJ, approximately 2000 journals are from Latin America and the Caribbean, of which around 1000 journals are from Brazil.
Latindex
Latindex es un sistema de Información sobre las revistas de investigación científica, técnico-profesionales y de divulgación científica y cultural que se editan en los países de América Latina, el Caribe, España y Portugal. La idea de creación de Latindex surgió en 1995 en la Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM) y se convirtió en una red de cooperación regional a partir de 1997.
REDALYC
Maintained by the National Autonomous University of Mexico (UNAM), this open access online portal includes peer-reviewed and journal articles on the social sciences and humanities from Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain, and Portugal.

Scholarly Articles on Language and Literatures

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Compiled by the Modern Language Association, the MLA International Bibliography lists articles and books in the fields of literature, language, and linguistics in the modern languages, as well as folklore, film studies, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, and historical aspects of printing and publishing.
Gale Literature Criticism This link opens in a new window
An extensive compilation of literary commentary available representing a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras, and genre.
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive index covering the entire spectrum of television and film writing and produced for a broad target audience, from film scholars to general viewers. Subject coverage includes: film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.

Hispania
The official journal of the American Association of Teachers of Spanish and Portuguese (AATSP) includes articles on applied linguistics, cultural studies, culture, film, language, linguistics, literary criticism, literature, and pedagogy having to do with Spanish and Portuguese. 1917-present.