This is the "Home" page of the "Social Media" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Social Media   Tags: social media, social networking, topical guides  

Last Updated: Jan 7, 2011 URL: http://libguides.northwestern.edu/social_media Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

News / Journal / Magazine Articles

  • Academic OneFile
    Academic One Fileis a large database that includes articles and citations to articles in peer reviewed journals as well as news and reference sources. The following searches are just a few examples that will return articles and citations related to social media.
    • social media and interpersonal
    • social media and social networking
    • texting and psychology
    • bloggingand psychology

  • Academic Search Premier
    Academic Search Premieris another very large database that covers almost all academic disciplines. Included are numerous scholarly and news articles that consider topics related to social media. The following searches are examples that will return a number of results.
    • social media and communicat*
    • social media and moral
    • social media and ethical
    • social media and network*


  • Communication Abstracts
    Communication Abstracts provides indexing and abstracting of communication-related articles, reports, papers, and books from a variety of publishers, research institutions, and information sources. Some searches that will yield results related to Social Media include:
    • Social Media
    • Social Networking
    • blogging


  • Communication & mass media complete
    This database provides indexing for over 500 journals and full text coverage for over 400 journals in the communication and mass media fields. The following searches will provide many interesting results related to social media.
    • social media
    • social media and psychology
    • adolescent and social media
    • blogging and self
    • facebook ormyspace


  • PsychInfo
    This database contains more than one million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports, all in the field of psychology. Here are some searches that will generate citations to interesting works:
    • social networking and self
    • social media and self
    • facebook and adolescence
    • social networking and Adolescence


  • Forrester Research
    This database contains research publications analyze a broad range of technology areas such as new media, computing, software, networking, telecommunications and the Internet, and project how technology trends will affect businesses, consumers, and society. Some possible searches include:
    • social media
    • social networking
    • blogging

 

Books

Reference Books

 

  • Girl culture : an encyclopedia / edited by Claudia A. Mitchell and Jacqueline Reid-Walsh
    Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2008
    Location: MAIN Reference (Non-circulating) Call number: 305.2352 G525
    Includes several entries relating to bullying via social networking and the Internet such as: Cyber-Bullying, and MYSpace.

  • Encyclopedia of social movement media [electronic resource] / John D.H. Downing.
    Thousand Oaks, Calif. : Sage, 2010
    Location: Online.
    This work includes the following essays:
    • New Media and Activism.
    • Internet Social Movement Media (Hong Kong).

  • Encyclopedia of Human Relationships/ Harry T. Reis and Susan Sprecher, eds.
    Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications Inc., 2009
    Location: Online.
    This work includes the following essays:
    • Communication, Instant Messaging and Other New Media
    • Collaboration Technology
    • December 2008 Revolt Media (Greece)
    • Social Movement Media in 2009 Crisis (Iran)
    • Medium Theory
    • Virtual/Internet Groups

  • Encyclopedia of virtual communities and technologies/ Subhasish Dasgupta [editor].
    Hershey, PA : Idea Group Reference, 2006
    Location: MAIN Reference (Non-circulating) Call number: 004.6703 E56
    Although older (relatively, this book contains the following entries that may be useful to the researcher of Social Media:
    • Social Impact of Virtual Networking
    • Online Social Networking for New Researched Opportunities


  • Encyclopedia of communities of practice in information and knowledge management / Elayne Coakes, Steve Clarke [editors].
    Hershey, PA : Idea Group Reference, 2006
    Location: MAIN Reference (Non-circulating) Call number:L 658.4038 E56
    This work includes a section titled Social Network Analysis and Communities of Practice and essay explaining a Japanese company's relatively early efforts to use social media to build a "knowledge community".

Books in the general collection

  • Socialnomics [electronic resource] : how social media transforms the way we live and do business/ Erik Qualman.
    Hoboken, N.J. : Wiley, 2009
    AvailableOnline

  • Analyzing social media networks with NodeXL [electronic resource] : insights from a connected world< / Derek L. Hansen, Ben Schneiderman, Marc A. Smith.
    Amsterdam ; Boston : M. Kaufmann, 2011
    Available Online

  • Blog theory : feedback and capture in the circuits of drive / Jodi Dean.
    Cambridge ; Malden, MA : Polity, 2010
    Location: MAIN Library Call number: 303.4833 D281b

  • Wired and mobilizing : social movements, new technology, and electoral politics / Victoria Carty.
    New York : Routledge, 2011
    Location: MAIN Library Call number: 322.44097 C329w

  • Audience, relevance, and search : targeting Web audiences with relevant content
    Upper Saddle River, NJ : IBM Press/Pearson, 2010
    Location: MAIN Library Call number: 808.02 M429a

  • Handbook of research on socio-technical design and social networking systems / Brian Whitworth, Aldo de Moor [editors].
    Hershey : Information Science Reference, 2009
    Location: MAIN Library Call number: L 303.4833 H2365
 

Web sites

Northwestern University

Mobile Site  |  Library Home  |  Northwestern Calendar: PlanIt Purple  |  Northwestern Search

Northwestern University Library  1970 Campus Drive  Evanston, IL 60208-2300  Evanston: 847.491.7658  Fax: 847.491.8306  library@northwestern.edu

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip