Skip to main content

PSYCH 205: Research Methods in Psychology: Getting Started

Related Guides

Be sure to also consult the Psychology subject guide and see these other guides for more help.

Psychology Dictionaries

Psychology dictionaries help to clarify terminology by providing definitions of terms. These can also be a good source of potential keywords for searches in the catalog or databases.

  • APA Dictionary of Psychology.
    Publisher: Washington, DC: American Psychological Association, 2007.
    Location: MAIN Reference
    Call Number: 150.3 A639
  • The Cambridge Dictionary of Psychology.
    Publisher: Leiden: Cambridge University Press, 2009.
    Online Access: click for full text
  • A Dictionary of Psychology.
    Publisher: Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2009.
    Online: via click for full text
  • The Penguin Dictionary of Psychology. 3rd. ed.
    Publisher: New York: Penguin Books, 2001.
    Location: MAIN Core
    Call Number: 150.321 R291p 2001
    Online: via click for full text

Psychology Encyclopedias

Psychology encyclopedias provide background information on key concepts, theories and measures to help you better understand the field. Encyclopedia articles typically provide references to further readings where you can find additional detailed information on your topic.

  • The Concise Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science.
    Publisher: Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley & Sons, 2005.
    Online: via Credo Reference
  • Elsevier's Dictionary of Psychological Theories.
    Publisher: Amsterdam: Elsevier, 2008.
    Location: MAIN Reference
    Call Number: 150.3 E49
    Online: via Credo Reference
  • Encyclopedia of Applied Psychology.
    Publisher: San Diego, CA: Elsevier, 2004.
    Location: MAIN Reference
    Call Number: L 158.03 E56
    Online: via Credo Reference
  • Encyclopedia of Psychological Assessment.
    Publisher: Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage, 2003.
    Location: MAIN Reference
    Call Number: 150.28703 E56
  • International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences.
    Publisher: Amsterdam: Elsevier, 2001.
    Location: MAIN Reference
    Call Number: 300.3 I61
    Online: via Gale Virtual Reference Library

Subject Guide

Steven Adams
Contact:
Steven Adams
Life Sciences Librarian
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston, IL 60208
(847) 467-2511