Skip to main content

The New Congress: Home



Reference Books

  • The encyclopedia of the United States Congress / edited by Donald C. Bacon, Roger H. Davidson, Morton Keller. New York : Simon & Schuster, 1995
    Location: MAIN Reference (Non-circulating) Call number: L 328.73003 E56 Also Available: in the Government Information Department and the Schaffner Library.
    This encyclopedia was created in response to the ever growing numbers of scholars of peace studies who have developed a new etymology and vocabulary of this area. This work attempts to elaborate on these new words, terms and concepts. This work contains 850 signed entries that relate to contemporary peace research and peace studies.

  • Speakers of the House of Representatives / Mark Grossman. Amenia, N.Y. Grey House Pub., 2009
    Location: MAIN Reference (Non-circulating) Call number: 327.17203 W927 1999
    This work provides detailed profiles, historical essays, primary documents, timeline, bibliography and index. It covers speakers from Frederick Muhlenberg to Nancy Pelosi.
  • Encyclopedia of the Republican Party (volumes 1-2) / Encyclopedia of the Democratic Party (volumes 3-4) edited by George Thomas Kurian ; Jeffrey D. Schultz, associate editor.Armonk, NY : Sharpe Reference, 1997.
    Location: MAIN Reference (Non-circulating) Call number: L 324.2736 E56
    This encyclopedia provides a survey of the history, evolution, and current state of the two major political parties in the United States. Each encyclopedia is divided into four sections: history; issues and ideology; elections, conventions,and platforms; and biographies. The biographies feature prominent individuals associated with each party, including presidents, vice presidents, governors, senators and representatives, both winning and losing candidates.
  • Encyclopedia of the American Constitution / edited by Leonard W. Levy and Kenneth L. Karst. New York : Macmillan Reference USA, 2000.
    Location: MAIN Reference (Non-circulating) Call number: L 342.73023 E56 2000
    This encyclopedia provides essays by leading constitutional scholars, law school professors, judges, historians, and political scientists on practical and theoretical topics dealing with every aspect of constitutional law in the U.S.

Selected recent books in the general collection

  • Congressional ambivalence : the political burdens of constitutional authority / Jasmine Farrier.
    Lexington, Ky. : University Press of Kentucky, 2010
    Location: MAIN Library Call number: 328.73074 F246c
  • The U.S. Congress : a very short introduction / Donald A. Ritchie.
    New York : Oxford University Press, 2010
    Location: MAIN Library Call number: 328.73 R598u
  • One nation under siege : Congress, terrorism, and the fate of American democracy / Jocelyn Jones Evans.
    Lexington, KY : University Press of Kentucky, 2010
    Location: MAIN Library Call number: 328.73 J762o
  • Party polarization in Congress / Sean M. Theriault.
    Cambridge ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2008
    Location: MAIN Library Call number: 328.73 R598u

For more works in the library collections a NUcat search on the subject term united states congress will provide you with a list of over 1300 titles.

Journal Articles and Databases


THOMAS was launched in January of 1995, at the inception of the 104th Congress. The leadership of the 104th Congress directed the Library of Congress to make federal legislative information freely available to the public. THOMAS provides free access to a wide range of legislative information on the Congress, including the full text of the Congressional Record and bills for the 103rd to the present Congress, a directory of congressional committees and members of Congress, the weekly floor schedule for the House, and a schedule of daily committee hearings.

The Congressional Record is, to a large extent, a verbatim account of the floor proceedings of the House and Senate. Each daily issue consists of four parts: House of Representatives, Senate, Extensions of Remarks (text not actually part of floor activity but inserted later), Daily Digest (a summary of the day's activities in both chambers). After the end of each session of Congress, a permanent final version of the record is prepared. Congressional Record files on THOMAS represent the daily edition, not the final. 

LexisNexis is digitizing the bound Congressional Record (1873-to date) and its three predecessors, the Annals of Congress (1789-1824), the Register of Debates (1824-1837), and the Congressional Globe (1833-1873). The Congressional Record Permanent Digital Collection covers the period 1789-1997.