Showing 45 Databases
Best Bets!
Focusing on music in American culture, this encyclopedia offers information on popular music, cities and regions, musical theater, opera, concert music, and music technology, as well as the musical traditions of many ethnic and cultural groups.
Find music published in sets and series, and in anthologies according to various criteria: by composer (Complete works: Gesamtausgaben),by geographical area (Monuments: Denkmler), by time or style period, or by primary sources.
Music Periodicals Database is an outstanding resource used to find articles in music journals. It enables you to access articles on a comprehensive variety of musical subjects, styles, and genres. Covers 1874-present.
For mobile app access, go to Naxos Northwestern with a browser. Create a Student/Member Playlist Account using your Northwestern email address. Log into app using this Student/Member account email and password.
Naxos Music Library (NML) is the world's largest online classical music library. The library offers the catalogs of more than 50 classical, jazz and world music labels with more labels joining every month. Among the labels whose catalogs are included in the service are leading independent classical labels such as BIS, Chandos, CPO, Haenssler, Hungaroton, Marco Polo, Vanguard Classics, VOX, and of course Naxos. World music content is provided by ARC, Celestial Harmonies and others.
Naxos Music Library (NML) is the world's largest online classical music library. The library offers the catalogs of more than 50 classical, jazz and world music labels with more labels joining every month. Among the labels whose catalogs are included in the service are leading independent classical labels such as BIS, Chandos, CPO, Haenssler, Hungaroton, Marco Polo, Vanguard Classics, VOX, and of course Naxos. World music content is provided by ARC, Celestial Harmonies and others.
Naxos Music Library Jazz offers thousands of tracks of jazz from over 2,300 albums. Hundreds of jazz artists are represented. Naxos Music Library Jazz comprises Naxos Jazz and the 22 labels of Fantasy Jazz. Naxos Jazz, along with Prophone and Proprius, brings you the world of international Jazz, covering Sweden and Scandinavian jazz artist.
For mobile app access, go to Naxos Northwestern with a browser. Create a Student/Member Playlist Account using your Northwestern email address. Log into app using this Student/Member account email and password.
For mobile app access, go to Naxos Northwestern with a browser. Create a Student/Member Playlist Account using your Northwestern email address. Log into app using this Student/Member account email and password.
RILM offers broad international coverage base. It includes music related works from articles, books, bibliographies, dissertations, film & video to concert reviews and recording notes, provided the items are of scholarly interest. Topics include historical musicology, ethnomusicology, instruments and voice, librarianship, performance practice and notation, theory and analysis, pedagogy, liturgy, dance, criticism, music therapy, and interdisciplinary studies on music and various other fields.
RIPM Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals with Full Text is an international, highly annotated bibliography with detailed content analysis of writings on musical history and culture between 1760 and 1966, all provided by internationally-recognized scholars and editors.
Additional Databases
America Latina en Video [Latin America in Video] includes 400 original-language documentaries—over 300 hours in all—from some of the most important producers and independent filmmakers in Latin America. The videos were produced in Latin America, by Latin Americans, about Latin American issues, such as human rights, violence, immigration, illiteracy, popular culture, and political history.
Note: Registered users access through link above. Log in prior to each use.
Note: First time users: register using a Northwestern email address and unique password.
The Digital Concert Hall is the virtual concert venue of the Berliner Philharmoniker on the Internet. Here you can experience the orchestra performing live at the Philharmonie in Berlin in more than 30 broadcasts every year. Just a few days after each broadcast, a recording of the concert is then available to watch in the archive. Also includes music-related documentaries and interviews.
Note: First time users: register using a Northwestern email address and unique password.
The Digital Concert Hall is the virtual concert venue of the Berliner Philharmoniker on the Internet. Here you can experience the orchestra performing live at the Philharmonie in Berlin in more than 30 broadcasts every year. Just a few days after each broadcast, a recording of the concert is then available to watch in the archive. Also includes music-related documentaries and interviews.
Black Drama contains approximately 1200 plays from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 200 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Some 440 of the plays are published here for the first time, including a number by major authors. The plays themselves have been selected using leading bibliographies and with the editorial advice of James V. Hatch, co-author with Errol G. Hill of A History of African American Theatre and a leading expert in this area.
Orchestral Music Online is the most recent iteration of David Daniels's classic repertoire reference work used by conductors, orchestras, musicians, and musicologists throughout the world. This new online version, based on the critically acclaimed fourth edition of the printed reference work Orchestral Music: A Handbook (2005, Scarecrow Press), provides greater and easier access to more information on composers and works.
The Directory of Music Faculties in Colleges and Universities, U.S. and Canada includes each institution's address and phone number, degrees offered, and a list of faculty members with their area(s) of specialty. E-mail addresses are also included for many schools. Arranged by state, indexed by faculty teaching area, faculty members' names, graduate degrees, and institution name.
DRAM offers streaming access to a large catalogue of American music from folk, opera, Native American, jazz, electronic and beyond. Included are complete liner notes, essays, bibliographies and discographies.
Contains primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000. US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles.
Produced in collaboration with the UCLA Ethnomusicology Archive Ethnomusicology: Global Field Recordings is comprised of over 60 field collections from ethnomusicologists dating from the mid-twentieth century to the early twenty-first century. This resource also features material from the University of Washington Ethnomusicology Archive relating to prominent ethnomusicologist Robert Garfias.
The audio recordings, videos, field notebooks and journals in this resource document musical traditions and how music interacts with different societies and cultures all over the globe. There are recordings from Alaska to the Pacific Islands, West Africa to Indonesia, including religious music, secular music, celebrations and funerals. There are interviews with musicians, slides and photographs of field sites and photographs of instruments being played and in isolation. - Publisher
The audio recordings, videos, field notebooks and journals in this resource document musical traditions and how music interacts with different societies and cultures all over the globe. There are recordings from Alaska to the Pacific Islands, West Africa to Indonesia, including religious music, secular music, celebrations and funerals. There are interviews with musicians, slides and photographs of field sites and photographs of instruments being played and in isolation. - Publisher
A bibliogrpahy paremiological and phraseological publications spanning the past 200 years. Covers the 10,000 publications that are part of the International Proverb Archives and every bibliographical reference is followed by one to three lines of alphabetically arranged key-words (names, subjects, titles, and texts of individual proverbs and phrases).
ACCESS RESTRICTED to the Northwestern University Evanston campus.
This is a library of International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts. IPA Source includes more than 7500 IPA texts.
This is a library of International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts. IPA Source includes more than 7500 IPA texts.
Access limited to 2 simultaneous users at a time. Please log off when finished.
General discography of all categories of recorded jazz, from 1896 to today. Covers all categories of jazz and other creative improvised music, including Traditional, Swing, Bop, Modern, Avant-Garde, Fusion, Third Stream, etc.
General discography of all categories of recorded jazz, from 1896 to today. Covers all categories of jazz and other creative improvised music, including Traditional, Swing, Bop, Modern, Avant-Garde, Fusion, Third Stream, etc.
LibraryMusicSource offers an expansive selection of music resources for musicians, students, teachers and music lovers around the world. This comprehensive collection of digital sheet music includes obscure and hard-to-find pieces along with all the beloved classics. In addition to this vast catalog includes an extensive range of vocal solos, opera scores, orchestral parts and so much more. – Publisher
Online collection of high definition videos of classical music, jazz, concerts, operas and ballets.
More than 450 Met performances. Dozens of Live in HD productions, classic telecasts from the 1970s, '80s, '90s, and '00s, and hundreds of radio broadcasts dating back to 1936.
Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart (MGG) is a general encyclopedia of music. MGG is encyclopedic in the true sense of that term: it offers in-depth articles on every aspect of music as well as many related areas such as literature, philosophy, and visual arts. MGG Online contains the second print edition of MGG, published from 1994 to 2008, as well as current, continuous online updates and additions.
Music & Performing Arts combines audio and video that spans all time periods, hundreds of thousands of seminal artists, composers, choreographers, and ensembles to provide an unparalleled learning environment for the teaching of music.
Covers all aspects of music, including history, musicology, ethnomusicology, music education, music therapy, acoustics, composition, music theory, performance practice, and popular music. Music Index provides citations to articles published in approximately American and foreign music journals, citations to dissertations and some books, as well as concert, sound recording and book reviews, and includes indexing by subject heading, title, book author, periodical, date, and keyword.
Music Magazine Archive is a series of digital collections focused on 20th and 21st century genres such as Rock, Folk, and Hip-Hop & Rap. Each genre-based collection unites every page and every issue of a diverse and influential group of magazines.
African American Music Reference brings together biographies, chronologies, sheet music, images, lyrics, liner notes, and discographies about African American experience through music. This includes coverage of blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression.
Music Online: Classical Scores Library is the largest and most comprehensive assemblage of in-copyright scores to support teaching and research in classical music. It is a reliable source for authoritative scores of the classical canon, as well as a resource for the discovery and dissemination of lesser-known contemporary works. The scores featured in the Classical Scores Library Package are essential for the study of composition, music history, appreciation, performance, analysis, composition, and theory.
Comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the worlds peoples
Contains five hundred hours of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the worlds best performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a works importance to the operatic canon.
Smithsonian Global Sound is a network of international cultural institutions working to preserve and distribute music from archives worldwide, and to foster appreciation for traditional roots music. Through its Web site, Global Sound will offer audio and video downloads, streaming media, educational resources, and detailed liner notes to music lovers, students, historians, teachers, and the academic community.
This collection allows researchers to discover early America through popular music by gathering publications dedicated to various aspects of music, from the sacred to the secular, from the political to the comic. Before widespread use of the printing press in the nineteenth century, the popular culture of the United States was largely an oral one, and much of it revolved around music. Often including related content on the arts, literature, and sometimes science, these periodicals show music in a larger cultural context, as music was also an important leisure activity for families and communities. Representative of turn-of-the-century titles in the Music Periodicals, 1781-1879 collection include The Family Minstrel, The Musical Journal, Trumpet Notes: A Monthly Paper Devoted to the Interests of Bands and Orchestras, Aeolian Piano Forte Journal, the Musical Miscellany, Vox Humana, and The New Yorker Musik Zeitung.
MusicalTheaterSongs.com draws from 150 years of musical theater repertoire, ranging from well-known standards to rare finds to the latest work from today’s new creators, to help you find the right songs quickly and easily. As an added feature, once you get your list of titles, we link you to various sites to make it simple to locate sheet music and recordings. (Subject to availability) You may share your saved searches through a variety of E-mail and social media platforms. Everything you need to find the right song, right now is in one place. – Publisher
MusicalAmerica provides breaking news stories as well as an electronic version of the respected Musical America International Directory of the Performing Arts. Article coverage includes news on performing organizations, record labels, foundations, significant performers and managers, competitions and awards. The directory section comprises over 14,000 contacts and addresses, including links for all Web site and E-mail addresses.
To view subtitles for videos in Naxos that have them, select the language desired ONLY from the “Libretto/text” tab to the right of the video player.
A performing arts video library presenting more than 2600 full-length videos of classical music performances, opera, ballet, live concerts and documentaries. Subtitles are available in 5 different languages and libretti are often included. Search videos by category, role, composer, artist, production personnel, work, venue or festival. Note: Access is limited to 20 users at a time, please log off when finished.
A performing arts video library presenting more than 2600 full-length videos of classical music performances, opera, ballet, live concerts and documentaries. Subtitles are available in 5 different languages and libretti are often included. Search videos by category, role, composer, artist, production personnel, work, venue or festival. Note: Access is limited to 20 users at a time, please log off when finished.
Features OPERA America, an association that serves the field of opera by providing information, technical, and administrative resources to the opera community. Discusses advocacy and awareness programs, publications, and membership information. Highlights professional development services, as well as other benefits and services. Links to information resources and databases. Access to North American Works Directory, Performance Database and Technical/Production Directory.
Oxford Bibliographies in Music combines the best features of a high-level encyclopedia and a traditional bibliography in a style tailored to meet the needs of today's online researchers. Each article, written and reviewed by top scholars in the field, is rich with citations and annotations, expert recommendations, and narrative pathways to the most important works for virtually all areas of music.
A survey of the traditions of western music by one of the most prominent and provocative musicologists of our time, this book illuminates, through a representative sampling of masterworks, those themes, styles, and currents that give shape and direction to each musical age.
Oxford Music Online includes The Oxford Companion to Music and The Oxford Dictionary of Music, as well as Grove Music Online, the cornerstone of Oxford's online music reference collection.
Registration and activation with Northwestern University email address is required for access. Users need to re-activate yearly.
Over 200 hours of educational videos from structured advanced fundamentals to studies of repertoire in HD quality and superb sound featuring 17 world-renowned artists and pedagogues across bassoon, breathing technique, cello, clarinet, flute, horn, oboe, trombone, trumpet, tuba.
Over 200 hours of educational videos from structured advanced fundamentals to studies of repertoire in HD quality and superb sound featuring 17 world-renowned artists and pedagogues across bassoon, breathing technique, cello, clarinet, flute, horn, oboe, trombone, trumpet, tuba.
With more than 2 million entries, PQD&T offers comprehensive listings for U.S. doctoral dissertations back to 1861, with extensive coverage of dissertations from many non-U.S. institutions. A number of masters theses are also listed. Thousands of dissertations are available full text, and abstracts are included for dissertations from the mid-1980s forward.
Qwest TV EDU provides access to a vast and growing archive of Black music and global sounds through live performances, documentaries, and interviews spanning diverse musical genres, from around the world. This extensive collection serves as a rich resource for academic exploration, offering rare recordings, historical footage, and expert commentary that shed light on the evolution of music and its cultural significance. Co-created by Quincy Jones & Reza Ackbaraly, this unique collection of highly curated titles makes timeless concerts and global music accessible for research, teaching and learning. - Publisher
RIPM Jazz Periodicals is a full-text database that features a unique collection of rare and historically significant jazz periodicals, providing an invaluable window into the development and evolution of jazz as an art form and to the historical, cultural, and sociological facets of American and twentieth-century life that it permeates.
RISM identifies the locations of primary materials in music stored in libraries, archives, monasteries, schools and private collections, most of which date from before 1800.
Rock and Roll, Counterculture, Peace and Protest contains materials about popular culture in the U.S. and U.K. from 1950 to 1975. Topics include student protests, civil rights, consumerism, and the Vietnam War.
The backfile of Rolling Stone, from its launch in 1967 to the present. One of the most influential consumer magazines of the 20th-21st centuries, it initially sought to reflect the cultural, social, and political outlook of a generation of students and young adults. It has been a leading vehicle for rock and popular music journalism, as well as covering wider entertainment topics such as film and popular culture. Major journalists and authors to have contributed include Hunter S. Thompson, Patti Smith, and Tom Wolfe. – Publisher
No blog posts have been assigned to this subject.
Search
Search the full text of this site. Results will link to pages containing your terms; results from subject page searches are automatically filtered by that subject.
