Skip to main content

POLI SCI 395: Latino Politics Research Seminar (Dominguez): Getting Started

Related Guides

For additional resources check out the Latina/o Studies guide and the following pages:

Dictionaries

Dictionaries provide definitions of terms, correct spellings and usage. They are a good source of keywords for searching.

  • The American Political Dictionary. 11th. ed.
    Publisher: Fort Worth, TX: Harcourt College Publishers, 2002.
    Call Number: MAIN Reference 320.973 P712a 2002
  • The Color of Words : An Encyclopaedic Dictionary of Ethnic Bias in the United States.
    Publisher: Yarmouth, ME, USA: Intercultural Press, 1997.
    Call Number: MAIN Reference 305.80097 H538c
  • The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Politics. 3rd ed.
    Publisher: Oxford ; New York: Oxford University Press, 2009.
    Call Number: MAIN Reference 320.03 C744 2009
  • Dictionary of Latin American Racial and Ethnic Terminology.
    Publisher: Gainesville: University Press of Florida, 1999.
    Call Number: MAIN Reference 305.8003 S835d 1999
  • Dictionary of Latino Civil Rights History.
    Publisher: Houston, TX: Arte Publico Press, 2006.
    Call Number: MAIN Reference 323.1168 R788d
  • Dictionary of Race, Ethnicity and Culture.
    Publisher: Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications, 2003.
    Call Number: MAIN Reference 305.8003 D554

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedias provide background information on concepts, events, places and people. They are a good place to start exploring a potential research topic. These encyclopedias address issues relevant to Latino politics.

  • Civil Rights in the United States.
    Publisher: New York: Macmillan Reference USA, 2000.
    Call Number: MAIN Reference & MAIN Core 323.097303 C582
  • Encyclopedia Latina: History, Culture, and Society in the United States.
    Publisher: Danbury, CT: Grolier Academic Reference, 2005.
    Call Number: MAIN Reference 973.0468 E56
  • Encyclopedia of Minorities in American Politics.
    Publisher: Phoenix, AZ: Oryx Press, 2000.
    Call Number: MAIN Reference 305.80097 E562
    Online: via ebrary (Vol. 1) & via ebrary (Vol. 2)
  • Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity and Society.
    Publisher: Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications, 2008.
    Online: via Gale Virtual Reference Library
  • Encyclopedia of Racism in the United States.
    Publisher: Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2005.
    Call number: MAIN Reference 305.80097 E561
  • Latino America : A State-by-State Encyclopedia.
    Publisher: Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2008.
    Call Number: MAIN Reference 973.0468 L3567
  • The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States.
    Publisher: New York: Oxford University Press, 2005.
    Call Number: MAIN Reference L 973.0468 O98

Subject Guide

John Hernandez
Contact:
Northwestern University Library
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston, IL 60208-2300

Office: Main Library (2nd Floor, North Tower)
(847) 491-7602