Over 3.6 million short biographical entries for individuals who lived across the world from ancient times to the present. Entries also include citations to the original reference works in which information on that individual appears, and the location of that source work in the companion biographical archives microfiche collection, most of which is owned by the Northwestern University Library. Especially valuable for locating information on hard-to-find individuals from the past.
Biography in Context delivers nearly a million biographical entries across time and place. In it you will find 600,000+ biographies covering more than 525,000 individuals from a variety of reference sources, with 50,000 new or updated bios added annually. Searchable by occupation, birthplace, death place, and nationality.
This comprehensive encyclopedia covers the reciprocal effects that the politics, foreign policy, and culture of Spain, Portugal, and the American nations have had on one another since the time of Columbus.
This book offers an examination of everyday life in the Iberian colonies of Central and South America: the indigenous peoples, their Spanish and Portuguese colonizers, and the Africans brought over as slaves.
Call Number: Main Library Reference (non-circulating) 306.36209 E56
Publication Date: 2006-12-01
This encyclopedia details how slaves struggled against their bondage, highlights key revolts, and delves into important cultural and religious ideas that nurtured slaves' hunger for freedom. Though the primary focus is North America, the work's scope also includes the immensely important slave resistance developments in the Caribbean and South America.
Books on Race, Religion, Gender and/or Class in Colonial Latin America
The Companion to Latin American History collects the work of leading experts in the field to create a single-source overview of the diverse history and current trends in the study of Latin America. Chapters 8, 9, and 10 focus on indigenous peoples, slavery, and religion in Colonial Latin America.
This volume brings together essays by leading scholars of colonial Latin America who address a series of topics relating to both the marginal and European-dominant discourses. The book is divided into five sections: "Representing the New World," "The Institutionalization of the Colony," "Amerindian Texts," "Women in Colonial Latin America," and "The Later Colony and the Caribbean Experience." The essays range from a consideration of Amerindian codes of mapmaking to the career of a transvestite nun, from confessional "sin lists" used by priests to examine the transgressions of their American charges to a new view of colonial women's lives based on birth records, dowry agreements, and wills.
Winner of the 2013 Choice Outstanding Academic Title Award "Christianity in Latin America" provides a complete overview of more than 500 years of the history of Christianity in the New World . This book specifically focuses on conquest, exploitation of slave- and forced labor, mission, the formation of the Catholic Church after the council of Trent, Inquisition, popular religiosity, and postcolonial state formation. Attention is also given to the emergence of Protestant immigrant and mission churches, modern forms of exploitation of indigenous and Afro-American workers, Catholic-Protestant antagonisms from the beginning of ecumenism, liberation theology, the proliferation of Pentecostal churches, and the military dictatorships in the second half of the 20th Century.
Includes chapters on the colonial church in the sixteenth century, Jesuits, missionaries, syncretism, the Inquisition and the Enlightenment, the church as an economic institution, colonial art and architecture.
In colonial Latin America, social identity did not correlate neatly with fixed categories of race and ethnicity. As Imperial Subjects demonstrates, from the early years of Spanish and Portuguese rule, understandings of race and ethnicity were fluid. In this collection, historians offer nuanced interpretations of identity as they investigate how Iberian settlers, African slaves, Native Americans, and their multi-ethnic progeny understood who they were as individuals, as members of various communities, and as imperial subjects.