Skip to main content

ECON 101-6: The Financial Crisis (Walker): Getting Started

Dictionaries

Dictionaries help to clarify terminology and can be a good source of potential keywords for searching.

  • Author: Jack C. Plano and Milton Greenberg.
    Title: The American Political Dictionary. 11th. ed.
    Publisher: Fort Worth, TX: Harcourt College Publishers ;, 2002.
    Call number: MAIN Reference (Non-circulating) 320.973 P712a 2002
     
  • Author: John Black.
    Title: A Dictionary of Economics. 2nd ed.
    Publisher: Oxford ; New York: Oxford University Press, 2002.
    Call number: MAIN Reference (Non-circulating) 330.03 B627d 2002
    Online Access: click for full text
     
  • Author: Jay M. Shafritz.
    Title: Dictionary of Public Policy and Administration.
    Publisher: Boulder, Colo.: Westview Press, 2004.
    Call number: MAIN Reference (Non-circulating) & SCHAFFNER Reference (Non-circulating) 320.603 S525d
    Online Access: click for full text
     
  • Author: Steven N. Durlauf, et al.
    Title: The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics Online. 2nd ed.
    Publisher: Basingstoke, Hampshire ; New York: Palgrave Macmillian, 2008.
    Online Access: click for full text
     

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedias provide further detail and explanations of concepts, as well as background on key events, people and places related to the topic you are researching. Encyclopedias also provide references to additional readings for more information.

  • Author: David R. Henderson.
    Title: The Concise Encyclopedia of Economics.
    Publisher: Indianapolis, Ind.: Liberty Fund, 2008.
    Call number: MAIN Reference (Non-circulating) 330.03 C744
     
  • Title: An Eponymous Dictionary of Economics : A Guide to Laws and Theorems Named after Economists.
    Publisher: Cheltenham, UK ; Northampton, MA: Edward Elgar Pub., 2004.
    Call number: MAIN Reference 330.03 E64
     
  • Author: Shirelle Phelps and Gale Group.
    Title: Gale Encyclopedia of Everyday Law.
    Publisher: Detroit: Gale/Thomson, 2003.
    Online Access: click for full text
     
  • Author: Jens Beckert and Milan Zafirovski.
    Title: International Encyclopedia of Economic Sociology.
    Publisher: London: Routledge, 2006.
    Call number: MAIN Reference (Non-circulating) 306.3 I61
     

Subject Guide

John Hernandez
Contact:
Northwestern University Library
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston, IL 60208-2300

Office: Main Library (2nd Floor, North Tower)
(847) 491-7602