Skip to main content

Digital Publishing Services: Digital Publishing

Overview of the Digital Publishing options available to faculty, students and staff of Northwestern University.

About

Visit the Digital Publishing Platform of Northwestern University Libraries

These services showcase student research and provide the software and hosting for publishing peer-reviewed scholarly journals from students and faculty of Northwestern University. The platform uses the Digital Commons software from bepressThe platform can be used to create Research Collections or to managed and edit Journal Publications.

Research Collections

Research collections are dedicated websites for organizing the scholarship of specific student groups and campus units. Authors are able to upload their work for immediate publication or administrator approval. Each submission receives a stable URL and metadata to make the work discoverable online.

Scholarly materials may include:

  • Research papers (capstone projects, theses, essays, case studies, lab or technical reports)
  • Presentations (slides, posters, video, audio)
  • Data (any digital file format)

Contributing to a Research Collection

  1. Go to the Collections page on the Digital Publishing website
  2. Select the Research Collection you wish to contribute your work
  3. Click on the "Submit Research" link on the sidebar
  4. Login or Create a free bepress account (select "Northwestern University" under Institutional Affiliation)
  5. Read the submission instructions and agree to the publishing terms
  6. Fill out the upload form, entering information for all the required fields

After a submission is received, you will receive an email once the submission has been approved for publication. Upon publication, you will have access to your publication and readership reports via your bepress account. 

Journal Publications

The journal publication service offers a robust software suite of editorial and publishing tools for peer-reviewed journals edited by Northwestern University students or faculty. These tools include online hosting, manuscript management workflows, coordinating peer-review, maintaining communications between authors and editors, and publishing within a volume and issue structure. Each journal’s website can utilize custom logos and branding. Journals must be managed by an editorial board and an editor-in-chief. Additional services include establishing journal policies, training on effective publishing workflows, and marketing assistance for recruiting submissions from potential authors.

Benefits of Publishing a Journal with the Libraries

  • Free access to publishing software, online hosting, and custom web design
  • Assistance with International Standard Serial Number (ISSN) registration
  • Persistent article identification with Document Object Identifiers (DOIs)
  • Access to a web analytics dashboard for tracking online usage statistics
  • Indexing with Google, Google Scholar, and scholarly databases
  • Long-term digital preservation with the libraries

Digital Publishing Services Librarian

Chris Diaz's picture
Chris Diaz
Contact:
University Library
2 - East - Digital Scholarship Services
1970 Campus Drive, Evanston, IL 60208
847-467-6693

Standard NUL Publishing Agreement

Northwestern University Libraries Digital Publishing Agreement

To properly manage and preserve the contents of publications for future use, Northwestern University (Northwestern) requires certain permissions from you, the author(s), or copyright owner. By accepting this license, you do not give up the copyright to your work. You do not give up the right to submit the work to publishers or other repositories. You grant to Northwestern the non-exclusive right to store your work. You agree that Northwestern may translate the submission to any medium or format and keep more than one copy for the purposes of security, back up and long-term preservation of the scholarly record. Northwestern will not make any alteration, other than as allowed by this license, to your submission.

By making your work available to the public, you are allowing anyone in the world to view your submission. You grant to Northwestern the non-exclusive right to distribute your submission (including the metadata and abstract) worldwide, in any format or medium for non-commercial, research, educational, or related academic purposes only. You also authorize Northwestern to allow users of the contents of your submission to distribute your submission (including the metadata and abstract) worldwide, in any format or medium for non-commercial, research, educational, or related academic purposes only. Northwestern will clearly identify your name(s) as the author(s) or owner(s) of the submission, and will not make any alteration, other than as allowed by this license, to your submission.

You agree that Northwestern bears no responsibility for the contents of your submission. You represent that the submission is your original work, and/or that you have the right to grant the rights contained in this license. You also represent that your submission does not, to the best of your knowledge, infringe upon anyone's copyright. You also represent and warrant that the submission contains no libelous or other unlawful matter and makes no improper invasion of the privacy of any other person.

If the submission contains material for which you do not hold copyright and that exceeds fair use, you represent that you have obtained the unrestricted permission of the copyright owner to grant Northwestern the rights required by this license, and that such third-party owned material is clearly identified and acknowledged within the text or content of the submission.

IF THE SUBMISSION IS BASED UPON WORK THAT HAS BEEN SPONSORED OR SUPPORTED BY AN AGENCY OR ORGANIZATION OTHER THAN NORTHWESTERN SUCH AS, BUT NOT LIMITED TO, THE NATIONAL INSTITUTES OF HEALTH, THE NATIONAL SCIENCE FOUNDATION, OR A PRIVATE FUNDER, YOU REPRESENT THAT YOU HAVE FULFILLED ANY RIGHT OF REVIEW, CONFIDENTIALITY, OR OTHER OBLIGATIONS REQUIRED BY THAT CONTRACT OR AGREEMENT.