Research Guides: Dance and History: Archives, Performance, and Memory: Getting Started

Books in the library

Book Location Guide
Once you've identified books through NUsearch with call numbers in Main or Deering Libraries, check the call number here to determine where to get the book from the shelf!

Call number information for books purchased before 2012

Dance and performance studies books are shelved the 790s in 3South
History books are in the 940s-990s in 4East (unless noted)
Women's and gender studies books are in the 305s in 3North

Call number information for books recently purchased - all in 4South

Drama books are shelved in the PN1600-3307
History books are in the D-F range
Women's and gender studies books are in the H range

Key Resources

International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance This link opens in a new window
Contains journal articles, books, book articles and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries. Covers 1984-present.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. The database indexes academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
Gender Studies Database combines the Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. GSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship.

Other library research guides

*U.S. History
by Geoff Morse Last Updated Apr 1, 2024 820 views this year
*Latin American Studies
by Michelle Guittar Last Updated Apr 1, 2024 123 views this year