Research Guides: *Counseling: Articles

NUsearch - Articles

NUsearch is the library's tool for finding books, journals, videos, images, and so much more (both physical and electronic) in our collection.

Databases

The Annual Reviews provide substantially researched articles written by recognized scholars in a wide variety of disisplines that summarize the major research literature in the field. These are often a good place to start your research and to keep informed about recent developments. Below are reviews important to counseling.

Annual Review of Clinical Psychology This link opens in a new window
Annual edited volume of articles that provides comprehensive reviews of significant developments in the field of clinical psychology and psychiatry, covering theory and application of psychological principles to address recognized disorders, including schizophrenia, mood, anxiety, childhood, substance use, cognitive, and personality disorders. Covers 2005-present.
Annual Review of Organizational Psychology and Organizational Behavior This link opens in a new window
Annual edited volume that reviews the research literature of the industrial/organizational psychology field and the field of human resources management and organizational behavior. Topics include motivation, selection, teams, training and development, leadership, job performance, strategic HR, cross-cultural issues, work attitudes, entrepreneurship, affect and emotion, organizational change and development, gender and diversity, and statistics and research methodologies. Covers 2014-present.
Annual Review of Psychology This link opens in a new window
Annual edited volume of articles demonstrating the current trends in research and inquiry in the field of psychology, including biological bases of behavior, sensation and perception, cognitive processes, animal learning and behavior, human development, psychopathology, clinical and counseling psychology, social psychology, personality, environmental psychology, community psychology and more. Covers 1950-present.
Annual Review of Public Health This link opens in a new window
Annual edited volume that reviews significant developments in the field of public health, including epidemiology and biostatistics, environmental and occupational health, issues related to social environment and behavior, health services, and public health practice. Covers 1980-present.

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Produced by the American Psychological Association, this database is a comprehensive index to the professional and academic literature in psychology, counseling and related disciplines. Covers 1860-present.
Note: You can use the list of PsycINFO Classification Codes to narrow the context of your search to a particular topical area. Select the code you want then add it to your search by using the Advanced Search mode. Enter the code in one of the search boxes and select CC Classification as the field.
PsycEXTRA This link opens in a new window
PsycEXTRA, produced by the American Psychological Association (APA), is a bibliographic and full-text companion to the scholarly PsycINFO database. The document types included in PsycEXTRA consist of technical, annual and government reports, conference papers, newsletters, magazines, newspapers, consumer brochures and more.
PsychiatryOnline This link opens in a new window
Produced by the American Psychiatric Association, PsychiatryOnline is a web-based portal that provides online access to the DSM-5, the American Journal of Psychiatry, Psychiatric Services, Journal of Neuropsychiatry and Clinical Neurosciences, and Academic Psychiatry, as well as textbooks, APA Practice Guidelines, self-assessment tools, medication information handouts, and clinical and research news.
PEP Web This link opens in a new window
PEP is a digital archive of many of the major works of psychoanalysis. The Archive spans more than 120 publication years and contains articles going back to 1871. Access for Northwestern is for lists of texts and abstracts only. To access the full-text of any publications, be sure to search the library's holdings for that title using NUsearch.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as published proceedings for over 12,000 conferences per year, and over 50,000 scholarly books.Powerful tools allow you to search and see what articles in the database have cited a particular work, as well as perform other analytics.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Database sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to education-related literature, including pedagogy, counseling and psychology. Covers 1966-present.
PTSDpubs This link opens in a new window
This database, formerly called PILOTS, is produced by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs National Center for PTSD. The database provides citations and abstracts to the worldwide literature on PTSD and other psychological effects of trauma.
Family & Society Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new window
Family & Society Studies Worldwide covers research, policy, and practice literature in family science, family studies, human ecology, human development, and social welfare. Covers 1970-present.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
CINAHL is the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers It provides indexing for over 1,200 nursing journals and publications dating back to 1982.
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Social Services Abstracts provides citations of current research focused on social work, human services, mental health services, social welfare, social policy, community development, and more. Covers 1979-present.
Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window
A resource for consumer-oriented publications covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. Covers topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition, children's health, men & women's health.

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials This link opens in a new window
The ATLA database provides citations to journal articles, book reviews, and essay collections in all areas of religious studies. This can be useful for literature relating to counseling in a religious or spiritual context. Covers 1800s-present.
Child Development and Adolescent Studies This link opens in a new window
Index to the current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through the age of 21. This can be especially useful for finding research on counseling of children in a variety of contexts. Covers 1927-present.
Education Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Education Abstracts brings you comprehensive coverage of an international range of English-language periodicals, monographs and yearbooks. Covers 1983-present.
Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
This database covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Covers 1972-present.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) This link opens in a new window
IBSS provides citations in social science and interdisciplinary research, with broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries. Subject areas include sociology, political science, economics, anthropology, ethnography, demography, education and more. 1951-Present.
MEDLINE (via Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE is widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature. Covers 1950-present.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed was developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). It was developed in conjunction with publishers of biomedical literature as a search tool for accessing literature citations and linking to full-text journals at web sites of participating publishers.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts to international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Covers1952-present.
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Index of trade journals, periodicals, and books in K-12 education. Covers topics such as assessment, continuing education, current pedagogical research, curriculum development, instructional media, language arts, literacy standards, science & mathematics, and more.

Accessing Full Text

Some article databases provide full text while most only provide references to articles.

Look out for the purple "Find it @ NU" button among your database search results.

Click on the button to see if Northwestern provides full text access to the article via one of our electronic journal packages.

ProxyMe!

Having trouble accessing a library resource from off-campus?

Bookmark this handy link in your favorite browser (right click the icon and bookmark or copy the link).

The ProxyMe! link will automatically append the Library's proxy server prefix to whatever URL you are currently visiting. In most cases this will allow you to log in with your NetID and password, which authenticates you as a Northwestern user.

Using Google for Academic Research

Using Google to Find Scholarly Literature (2016)
A handy guide on how to search Google, Google Scholar and Google Books to find academic material. Written by a librarian for students and researchers.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar brings together a tremendous amount of scholarly literature on a wide range of subjects. This can be a good alternative to more traditional databases.

Google Scholar Settings
Use this step-by-step guide to edit your Google settings so that you see the FIND IT @ NU link with search results. Avoid paywalls!!