This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Study Abroad" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Study Abroad   Tags: how to  

Last Updated: Aug 7, 2013 URL: http://libguides.northwestern.edu/studyabroad Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 

Getting started

Connecting from Off Campus

Almost all of the library's online resources are available to you from off-campus. Just remember to link to resources from library web pages so you'll be recognized as a member of the Northwestern community. For example, if you try to access JSTOR by going directly to www.jstor.org from off-campus, you won't be able to get in. If you link to JSTOR from the library's electronic resources, you'l be asked for your NetID and passed on through.

For a few of our resources you'll also need to set up VPN (Virtual Private Network)

Be sure to set your preferences in Google Scholar so you can link to NU resources.

Be sure login to the "articles" QuickSearch before running your search.

Look for Information on a Topic

Don't know where to start? Northwestern subscribes to several hundred journal article databases.
Selected General Databases
Academic Search Premier [lots of full-text articles]
Academic OneFile [lots of full-text articles]
LexisNexis Academic [full-text newspapers, many foreign newspapers]
Factiva [similar to LexisNexis but not as fragmented]
JSTOR [full text of high quality journals, "moving wall" means latest 3-5 years are NOT included]

Search Broadly

Journal article databases allow you to perform complex searches within a limited scope of material. The search box on the library home page and Google Scholar are two tools that let you search very broadly but with less precision. This can be helpful early in the research process.

Use specialized databases to find material in research periodicals. Remember, Not all database have full text of the articles they index. Use the "Find it @ NU"  button to find the full article.

      

    Contact Me

    Profile Image
    Qiana Johnson
    Logo - Google Talk
    Contact Info
    312.503.6617
    Send Email
     
    Northwestern University

    Mobile Site  |  Library Home  |  Northwestern Calendar: PlanIt Purple  |  Northwestern Search

    Northwestern University Library  1970 Campus Drive  Evanston, IL 60208-2300  Evanston: 847.491.7658  Fax: 847.491.8306  library@northwestern.edu

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip