Contemporary Newspapers
- Ethnic NewsWatch
Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish), full-text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press. This database is very helpful for identifying literature from the point of view of various racial and ethnic groups. Covers materials published 1960-present.
- Lexis Nexis Academic
Provides full text access to news from across the U.S. and around the world. Coverage of most newspapers goes back to the mid 1980s, but varies widely. Also provides access to business, legal, and medical journals, as well as corporate financial information. Click on News in the red bar to begin your search.
- Access World News
Provides full-text of many major national and regional newspapers from the United States and around the world. Use the clickable map to select a country or state to search.
- Alternative Press Index
Comprehensive guide to over 250 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. Covers 1991-present. See the Alternative Press Index Archive for earlier material (1969-1990).
- Factiva
Database from Dow Jones & Reuters that provides full text access to various newspapers and news wire services. This database can be tricky to use, so be sure to ask for help if you run into problems.
- ProQuest National Newspapers
Provides references to articles (with some full text) in over 20 national newspapers. Most coverage goes back to the mid 1990s.
TV, Radio & Online News
- Google - News
URL: http://www.google.com/news
Google News pulls together related headlines and photos from thousands of news sources worldwide. This enables you to see how different news organizations around the world report the same events. Stories are updated continuously, making this a useful source for breaking news.
- National Public Radio
URL: http://www.npr.org
The NPR Web site provides a searchable, full-audio archive of programs, including All Things Considered, Morning Edition, and Talk of the Nation going back to 1996. Transcripts are available on the site for purchase, but these are also available for free via Lexis Nexis back to 1992.
- Public Broadcasting System
URL: http://www.pbs.org
The PBS Web site offers highlights of news-related programs, including Frontline, POV, NOW, NewsHour, and NOVA. Transcripts, audio, and video files of previous broadcasts are available. Transcripts of NewsHour are also available via Lexis Nexis back to 1982.
- Univision
URL: http://www.univision.com
Univision is the largest Spanish-language television network in the United States. Their Web site provides links to shows, sports, entertainment, music, news and more.
- Telemundo
URL: http://msnlatino.telemundo.com
Telemundo is the second-largest Spanish-language television network in the U.S. Their Web site is similar to what you find above.
- Vanderbilt University Television News Archive
URL: http://tvnews.vanderbilt.edu
The world's most extensive archive of television news dating back to August 1968. The collection holds recordings of thousands of evening news broadcasts from the major U.S. networks. Access to TV-NewsSearch is free, but requires registration. You may request loans of video segments for research for a fee. Important: Contact a librarian if you need to obtain material from this collection BEFORE placing an order.
Historical Newspapers
- Hispanic American Newspapers (1808-1980)
The single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Provides full-text retrospective coverage of several U.S. newspapers, including:- New York Times (1851-2005)
- New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993)
- Wall Street Journal (1889-1991)
- Washington Post (1877-1992)
- Los Angeles Times (1881-1986)
- Boston Globe (1872-1925)
- Chicago Tribune (1849-1986)
- Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
- Atlanta Constitution (1868-1939)
- Reader's Guide Retrospective (1890-1982)
Provides comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the U.S.
- America's Historical Newspapers (1690-1876)
Provides full text of more than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers from all 50 states.
- 19th Century U.S. Newspapers Digital Archive
Provides cover-to-cover, full-text access to every article, advertisement and illustration in hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers.
Your Librarian |
John HernandezContact Info:
Social Sciences Coordinator
Main Library, 2East, Room 2625
(847) 491-7602
Send Email
Subjects:
Social Sciences, Economics, Psychology, Cognitive Science, Latino Studies
Social Sciences Coordinator
Main Library, 2East, Room 2625
(847) 491-7602
Send Email
Subjects:
Social Sciences, Economics, Psychology, Cognitive Science, Latino Studies
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait