More Help
For more help with locating, accessing and using numeric information, consult the staff at Social Science Data Services.
General Resources
- ICPSR: Inter-University Consortium for Political & Social Research ICPSR maintains and provides access to thousands of social science datasets for research and instruction.
- Lexis Nexis Statistical A master index to statistical publications from Federal, state, local, international, and other sources. Provides full text of selected tables, and links to many data-producing agencies.
- Statistical Resources on the Web (Univ of Michigan) Very useful site with hundreds of links to statistical sources covering a wide variety of topics. Many of the links connect to services for which access is limited to Michigan affiliates.
Statistical Web Sites
- American FactFinder The U.S. Census Bureau's primary vehicle for distributing recent Census data. This is a good place to find basic statistics for U.S. states, cities, and other areas.
- Hispanic Population of the United States Official page from the U.S. Census Bureau with reports and data about the Latino population from Census surveys, including the 2000 Census, American Community Survey, and Current Population Survey.
- Latin American Migration Project (LAMP) LAMP is a multidisciplinary research project investigating migration flows originating in Latin American countries, including Puerto Rico, the Dominican Republic, Nicaragua, Costa Rica, Haiti, Peru, and Guatemala.
- Minority Data Resource Center (MDRC) MDRC provides educators, researchers and students with data resources to analyze issues affecting racial and ethnic minority populations in the United States.
- National Center for Education Statistics The NCES is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.
- U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis The mission of the BEA is to produce and disseminate accurate, timely, relevant, and cost-effective economic accounts statistics that provide a comprehensive, up-to-date picture of economic activity.
- U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics The BLS serves as a statistical resource to the Department of Labor that collects, processes, analyzes, and disseminates statistical data on topics such as inflation, wages and earnings, employment, and productivity.
- U.S. Dept. of Homeland Security - Immigration Provides links to statistics and policy information concerning immigration into the United States.
Statistical Publications
- Hispanic Americans: A Statistical Sourcebook.
Publisher: Woodside, CA: Information Publications. Annual.
Call Number: MAIN Library 305.868 H6732
Library has: 1991-present
Current volume: MAIN Reference
- The Hispanic Databook: Detailed Statistics and Rankings on the Hispanic Population.
Publisher: Millerton, NY: Grey House Publishers, 2004.
Call Number: MAIN Reference L 305.868 H6727
- We the People: Hispanics in the United States.
Publisher: Washington, DC: United States. Bureau of the Census, 2004.
Online: http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS61563
- We the People of More than One Race in the United States.
Publisher: Washington, DC: United States. Bureau of the Census, 2005.
Online: http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS64741
- Status and Trends in the Education of Hispanics.
Publisher: Washington, DC: National Center for Education Statistics, 2003
Call Number: MAIN Government Information ED 1.302:ST 2/6
Online: http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS32922
- Historical Census Statistics on Population Totals by Race, 1790 to 1990, and by Hispanic Origin, 1970 to 1990, for Large Cities and Other Urban Places in the United States.
Publisher: Washington, DC: United States. Bureau of the Census. Population Division, 2005.
Online: http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS75196
- Racial and Ethnic Residential Segregation in the United States: 1980-2000.
Publisher: Washington, DC: United States. Bureau of the Census, 2002.
Online: http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS26236
- Statistical Abstract of the United States.
Publisher: Washington, DC: U.S. Bureau of the Census. Annual.
Call Number: MAIN Government Info C 3. 134:
Library has: 1878-present
Current volume: MAIN Government Info (Reference room)
Online: http://www.census.gov/compendia/statab/
This statistical compendium covers a wide variety of topics. Tables provide summary statistics with footnotes indicating sources for more detailed data.
- Historical Statistics of the United States, Earliest Times to the Present. Millenial Edition.
Publisher: New York: Cambridge University Press, 2005.
Call Number: MAIN Government Info (Reference room) 317.3 H6727
Online: via Cambridge
This companion to the Statistical Abstract of the United States is a great source for historical statistics. Provides convenient access to a wide variety of statistics dating back before 1800. Each chapter includes detailed annotations that provide sources for additional information.
Your Librarian |
John HernandezContact Info:
Social Sciences Coordinator
Main Library, 2East, Room 2625
(847) 491-7602
Send Email
Subjects:
Social Sciences, Economics, Psychology, Cognitive Science, Latino Studies
Social Sciences Coordinator
Main Library, 2East, Room 2625
(847) 491-7602
Send Email
Subjects:
Social Sciences, Economics, Psychology, Cognitive Science, Latino Studies
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait