Google Scholar
(search results open in a new window)
Accessing Full Text
Some article databases provide full text while most only provide references to articles.
Look out for the purple "Find it @ NU" button
among your database search results.
Click on the button to see if Northwestern provides full text access to the article via one of our electronic journal packages.
Key Resources
- Hispanic American Periodicals Index Provides citations to articles about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the U.S.-Mexico border, and Hispanics in the U.S. Covers 1970-present.
- Chicano Database Comprehensive resource for articles about Mexican-American topics. Also includes (1992 to the present) the broader Latino experience of Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants. Covers 1960s-present.
- Ethnic NewsWatch Interdisciplinary full-text database of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Searching is bilingual (English & Spanish). Covers 1960-present.
- Race Relations Abstracts Provides references to articles on race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration and other areas. Covers 1945-present.
- Handbook of Latin American Studies Bibliography on Latin America consisting of works in the social sciences and the humanities selected and annotated by scholars. Covers 1936-present.
Related Resources
The following databases provide references to literature concerning Latinos/Latinas in a variety of subject disciplines:
- ABI Inform A comprehensive index to worldwide business periodicals. Provides in-depth coverage of business and economic conditions, management, advertising, marketing, human resources, finance and taxation. Covers 1971-present.
- America: History & Life Indexes books and journal articles on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Covers 1954-present.
- Anthropology Plus Extensive index of journal articles, reports, and other works in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture and interdisciplinary areas. Covers 1800s-present.
- AnthroSource The premier online portal serving the research, teaching and practicing needs of anthropologists. Provides a good selection of anthropological journals with links to full text. Covers mostly mid-1900s-present.
- Art Abstracts Provides references to articles from an international array of peer-selected publications on art, artists, exhibition reviews, and criticism. Covers 1984-present.
- Business Source Premier Provides indexing and full text of scholarly business journals. Also contains country economic reports, industry reports, and detailed profiles of the world's 10,000 largest companies. Covers 1886-present.
- Education Abstracts Provides references to journal articles and books in the field of education. Covers 1983-present.
- ERIC Database sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. Covers 1966-present.
- Film & Television Literature Index Definitive index to literature dealing with film and television. Covers early 1900s-present.
- International Bibliography of the Social Sciences Provides bibliographic information from an international selection of publications in the fields of economics, political science, sociology, and anthropology. Covers 1951-present.
- International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance Indexing and abstracts of journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertations for the study of theatre and the performing arts. Covers 1984-present.
- International Index to Music Periodicals Provides references and some full text of articles that discuss all aspects of music, including music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, theory, popular music forms and composition. Covers 1874-present.
- International Index to the Performing Arts Provides citations to articles from international journals and magazines in the performing arts, including dance, film, drama/theater, stagecraft and performance business. Covers 1864-present.
- JSTOR Provides electronic access to back issues of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social science, and science. While coverage of these journals goes back to the first issue, the most recent issues will be for 3-5 years ago.
- Left Index Provides references to significant left-wing publications, including journal articles, books, book reviews, dissertations, newsletters and selected web sites. Topics include politics, economics, and racial and ethnic relations. Covers 1982-present.
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts Provides abstracts and indexing for the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. Covers 1973-present.
- MLA International Bibliography Detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations on language and literature. Covers 1920s-present.
- PAIS International Provides citations to articles, books, reports, and select government documents on U.S. and international public policy issues. PAIS is generally considered to be a comprehensive index to policy literature. Covers 1915-present.
- PsychINFO Indexes and abstracts the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines. Covers 1860-present.
- Sociological Abstracts Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Covers 1963-present.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts Index to the literature in political science, including journal articles, books and book chapters, dissertations, and reviews. Covers 1975-present.
Your Librarian |
John HernandezContact Info:
Social Sciences Coordinator
Main Library, 2East, Room 2625
(847) 491-7602
Send Email
Subjects:
Social Sciences, Economics, Psychology, Cognitive Science, Latino Studies
Social Sciences Coordinator
Main Library, 2East, Room 2625
(847) 491-7602
Send Email
Subjects:
Social Sciences, Economics, Psychology, Cognitive Science, Latino Studies
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait