Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Latina/o Studies  Tags: latino_studies latina_studies race  

Resources to help get started in your research.
Last update: Nov 11th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.northwestern.edu/latino  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Reference Tools            Print Page
  
 

Latino Studies Dictionaries

Dictionaries provide definitions of terms, correct spellings and usage. They are a good source of keywords for searching.

  • Dictionary of Latin American Racial and Ethnic Terminology.
    Publisher: Gainesville: University Press of Florida, 1999.
    Call Number: MAIN Reference 305.8003 S835d 1999
     
  • Dictionary of Latino Civil Rights History.
    Publisher: Houston, TX: Arte Publico Press, 2006.
    Call Number: MAIN Reference 323.1168 R788d
     
  • Dictionary of Race, Ethnicity and Culture.
    Publisher: Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications, 2003.
    Call Number: MAIN Reference 305.8003 D554
     
  • Key Terms in Latino/a Cultural and Literary Studies.
    Publisher: Oxford: Blackwell Publishers, 2007.
    Call Number: MAIN Reference 973.0468 A421k
 

Latino Studies Encyclopedias

Encyclopedias provide background information on concepts, events, places and people. They are a good place to start exploring a potential research topic. These encyclopedias address issues in Latino studies and race relations.

  • Encyclopedia Latina: History, Culture, and Society in the United States.
    Publisher: Danbury, CT: Grolier Academic Reference, 2005.
    Call Number: MAIN Reference 973.0468 E56
     
  • Encyclopedia of Latino Popular Culture.
    Publisher: Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2004.
    Call Number: MAIN Library 973.0468 E563
     
  • Encyclopedia of Hispanic American Literature.
    Publisher: New York: Facts on File, 2008.
    Call Number: MAIN Library 810.9868 R173e
     
  • Encyclopedia of Minorities in American Politics.
    Publisher: Phoenix, AZ: Oryx Press, 2000.
    Call Number: MAIN Reference 305.80097 E562
    Online: via ebrary (Vol. 1) & via ebrary (Vol. 2)
     
  • Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity and Society.
    Publisher: Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications, 2008.
    Online: via Gale Virtual Reference Library
     
  • Encyclopedia of Racism in the United States.
    Publisher: Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2005.
    Call number: MAIN Reference 305.80097 E561
     
  • Greenwood Encyclopedia of Latino Literature.
    Publisher: Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2008.
    Online: via Gale Virtual Reference Library
     
  • Latinas in the United States: a Historical Encyclopedia.
    Publisher: Bloomington, IN: Indiana University Press, 2006.
    Call Number: MAIN Reference 920.72089 L3573
    Online: via ebrary
     
  • The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States.
    Publisher: New York: Oxford University Press, 2005.
    Call Number: MAIN Reference L 973.0468 O98
 

Biographical Resources

  • Biography Resource Center
    Online biographical reference database in the fields of literature, science, business, entertainment, politics, sports, history, current events and the arts. Provides reference to publications containing biographical information on over one million people throughout history, around the world.
     
  • Hispanics in Hollywood: A Celebration of 100 Years in Film and Television.
    Publisher: Hollywood: Lone Eagle Publishers, 2000.
    Call Number: MAIN Reference 791.43089 R457h 2000
     
  • Latino and African American Athletes Today: A Biographical Dictionary.
    Publisher: Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2004.
    Call Number: MAIN Reference 796.0922 L357
     
  • Latino and Latina Writers.
    Publisher: New York: Charles Scribner's Sons, 2004.
    Call Number: MAIN Reference 810.9868 L357
     
  • Notable Hispanic American Women.
    Publisher: Detroit: Gale Research, 1993.
    Call Number: MAIN Reference L 920.72089 N8991
     
  • Notable Latino Americans: A Biographical Dictionary.
    Publisher: Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1997.
    Call Number: MAIN Reference 920.00926 M511n
    Online: via ebrary
     
  • St. James Guide to Hispanic Artists: Profiles of Latino and Latin American Artists.
    Publisher: Detroit: St. James Press, 2002.
    Call Number: ART Collection L 704.0368 S774
     
  • Who's Who Among Hispanic Americans. 3rd Ed.
    Publisher: Detroit: Gale Research, 1995.
    Call Number: MAIN Reference L 920.00926 W628
 

Your Librarian

Profile ImageJohn Hernandez
Contact Info:
Social Sciences Coordinator
Main Library, 2East, Room 2625
(847) 491-7602
Send Email

Subjects:
Social Sciences, Economics, Psychology, Cognitive Science, Latino Studies

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait