This is the "Digital Archives" page of the "Digital Archives" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Digital Archives   Tags: archives, digital, how to, image, images, scanning, scholarly communication  

Last Updated: Oct 25, 2013 URL: http://libguides.northwestern.edu/digitalarchives Print Guide RSS Updates

Digital Archives Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Digital Archives

Digital archiving is the act of saving and storing digital objects in sustainable formats for backup and future use. At Northwestern University Library, institutional websites and digital collections are archived and preserved by trained professionals following various sets of best practices. However, this guide outlines how any user can best archive various forms of digital objects from a simple text document to an entire Facebook account. 

 The following recommendations may not be feasible for all readers of this guide; the ideal level of preservation is whatever the reader is able to attain, and this guide can be used as a metric to get the reader as close as possible to that ideal level.

 

Self-Archiving

For scholars, researchers, and authors looking for information on self-archiving scholarly publications, please visit our Guide to Scholarly Communication

 

Storage

This guide offers recommendations on how best to save your digital content and which file formats to use for optimal sustainability. However, having the space to store files is also crucial, and, often times, it is a best practice to keep multiple copies of files in different places. Along with computer and external harddrive storage, there are also many cloud-based syncing and storage options available, including Dropbox, Google Drive, and SpiderOak. Additionally, Northwestern University faculty have access to Depot

 

Saving & Archiving

Audio & Video

Images

Text

Presentations

Spreadsheets

Websites

Email

Social Media

 

For Consultations . . .

Benn Joseph
Manuscript Librarian
Northwestern University Archives,
McCormick Library of Special Collections
Northwestern University Library
b-joseph@northwestern.edu
847-491-3136
847-491-3635

 

Nicole Finzer
Visual Resources Librarian
Digital Collections,
Library Technology Division
Northwestern University Library
n-finzer@northwestern.edu
847-467-1666

 
Northwestern University

Mobile Site  |  Library Home  |  Northwestern Calendar: PlanIt Purple  |  Northwestern Search

Northwestern University Library  1970 Campus Drive  Evanston, IL 60208-2300  Evanston: 847.491.7658  Fax: 847.491.8306  library@northwestern.edu

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip