This is the "Getting Started" page of the "International Resources by Theme" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
International Resources by Subject
Last Updated: May 8, 2013 URL: http://libguides.northwestern.edu/international Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

GovInfo Dept

Govinfo (Government and Geographic Information and Data Services) department is the main resource for intergovernmental and foreign government information as well as Federal, State and Local government information! Come to the department if you are doing government relation research!

 Hours: Gov Info
 

Reference for Statistics

 

Key Resources

  • UNData - UN
    A compilation of almost 30 United Nations and agency databases in one simple searching function. UNData contains over 60 million data points cover a wide range of subjects including Agriculture, Crime, Education, Employment, Energy, Environment, Health, HIV/AIDS, Human Development, Industry, Information and Communication Technology, National Accounts, Population, Refugees, Tourism, Trade, as well as the Millennium Development Goals indicators.

  • World Development Indicators - World Bank
    Annual compilation of data about development. This database contain 45 years of time series data for more than 200 countries back as far as 1960, single-year observations, and spreadsheets on many topics; over 800 indicators are given. Data is downloadable in Excel format.
    PRINT: Latest edition and CD-ROM in GovInfo Reference 330.05 W9721

  • World Bank Data - World bank
    Provide all users with open access to World Bank data.
  • OECDiLibrary - OECD
    The online publications (books, periodicals, statistics, glossaries) portal of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development going back to 1998. Publications and statistics are searchable by subject area (Agriculture, Economics, Education, Development, etc.), by country and is available to download in web, pdf, and Excel format.

  •  OECD.Stat - OECD
    Enables users to search for and extract data from across the subject databases (Agriculture, Economics, Education, Development, etc.) included in OECDiLibrary's statistics.

  • EuroStat
    Statistics and statistical publications related to and produced by the European Union and candidate countries. Resources are browseable and searchable by both broad and narrow subject areas.

  •  Human Development Report statistics - UNDP
    The Human Development Report usually presents two types of statistical information: statistics in the human development indicator tables, which provide a global assessment of country achievements in different areas of human development, and statistical evidence in the thematic analysis in the chapters, which may be based on international, national or sub-national data.
    Latest print edition in GovInfo Reference

  • ProQuest Statistical Insight
    Statistical information from governmental and privately-published sources. Includes index and abstract records for Index to International Statistics (IIS) [1983 to present] and full text from 2007. IIS indexes approximately 2000 titles from over 100 IGOs.

  • Monthly Bulletin of Statistics - UN
    The Monthly Bulletin of Statistics Online presents current economic and social statistics for more than 200 countries and territories of the world. It contains 51 tables, comprising over 100 indicators, of monthly, quarterly and annual data on a variety of subjects illustrating important economic trends and developments, including population, industrial production indices, price indices, employment and earnings, energy, manufacturing, transport, construction, international merchandise trade and finance.
    PRINT: latest issues in GovInfo Reference 310.5 U58m

  • NationMaster
    Massive compilation of data from a variety of official sources (governmental statistical agencies) and international bodies. Maps and graphs from results can also be generated by the user.

  • Statistical Agencies of Foreign Governments
    U.S. Census Bureau. Direct links to national statistical agencies

  • UN Statistical Yearbook - UN
    An annual compilation of a wide range of international economic, social and environmental statistics for over 200 countries and areas of the world, compiled from UN agencies and other international, national and specialized organizations. Latest 3 years available in pdf format
    PRINT:GovInfo Reference 310.5 U58s

  • Europa World: Comparative Statistics
    Compare tables and charts for over 250 countries. Comparative statistics consists of multinational statistics derived from a single source to ensure their comparability and broken down by topic: Area & Population, Health & Welfare, Agriculture, Industry, Finance, Eternal Trade, and Education. Tables can be downloaded in HTML, comma separated values (CSV), or tab-separated value and can be imported into Excel or SPSS.
    PRINT: based upon the Europa World Yearbook, latest edition in Main Reference 314.2 E892

  • Europa World: Country Statistics
    Contains general as well as in-depth profile and statistical information on over 250 countries. Both profile information and statistics available for browsing by topic.
    PRINT: based upon the Europa World Yearbook, latest edition in Main Reference 314.2 E892

  • World Economic Outlook Database (April 2008 edition) - IMF
    Data on national accounts, inflation, unemployment rates, balance of payments, fiscal indicators, trade for countries and country groups (aggregates), and commodity prices whose data are reported by the IMF.

  • Data Mapper - IMF
    Create your own interactive maps based on IMF global economic data; based on the World Economic Outlook Database.

  • World Population Prospects 2006 Revision Database - UN Population Division
    Detailed population counts and projections for all countries along with select demograpic indicators.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Chris Davidson
Contact Info
Government & Geographic Information and Data Services Dept.
847.467.3679
Send Email
 
Northwestern University

Mobile Site  |  Library Home  |  Northwestern Calendar: PlanIt Purple  |  Northwestern Search

Northwestern University Library  1970 Campus Drive  Evanston, IL 60208-2300  Evanston: 847.491.7658  Fax: 847.491.8306  library@northwestern.edu

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip