Ryōan-ji
Kyoto, Japan
c. 1450
Databases
As with journals, there are several databases applicable to architecture. Most will index many different sources of information, and cover a wide range of periods, artists, themes, etc. The easiest way to access a particular database for a given subject is the following:
- From the University Library homepage, go to Databases and Journals, and select Databses by Subject from the drop-down menu.
- This will take you to an A-Z list of all the databases to which the University subscribes.
- From the All Subjects box, select Art & Architecture. The resulting list can then be searched alphabetically.
Each database includes a brief description, so you don't find yourself searching for traditional Japanese architecture in a database devoted to 20th century conceptual art, for example. Although space precludes a full list of relevant databases, some of the most popular include:
- Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new windowArt & Architecture Source provides indexing and abstracting for journals, magazines and books covering topics, including art in all media, art history and criticism, architecture, archaeology, museum studies, graphic arts and advertising, product design, interior design, costume and set design, and television, video, & film from all parts of the world and all periods of time. Covers sources from 1914 to the present with selected full text.
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new windowThe Avery Index to Architectural Periodicalsindexesarticles published in U.S. and foreign journals 1930-present coveringinternational, scholarly and popular periodical literature on the architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America and Australia. It also provides citation records for architects' obituaries.Subjects include architecture, city planning, conservation and restoration, interior design, museums, and sustainable design.
- Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new windowThe online version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) contains records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowDigitized, full-text versions of core scholarly journals across disciplines.While coverage of these journals goes back to the first issue, for most journals the most recent issues will be for 3-5 years ago.
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new windowAccess point for the Grove Dictionary of Art and several Oxford reference sources on art and architecture. The Grove Dictionary of Art is the most complete encyclopedia of art available in English, featuring nearly 50,000 articles on a variety of topics including art movements, artists biographies, and countries. Articles are signed, include brief bibliographies, and images. Images are searchable and made available through Oxfords partnerships with museums, galleries and arts organizations.
- Meiji Japan : the Edward Sylvester Morse collection from the Phillips Library at the Peabody Essex MuseumEdward Sylvester Morse Papers were given to the Peabody Museum in 1926 and consist of 99 boxes of personal and professional papers including diaries, correspondence, research files, drawings, lecture notes, publications, scrapbooks and manuscripts. Collection digitized in its entirety. Papers (ca. 1858-1925, 40 cubic feet), document the numerous and valuable contributions made by Morse to the areas of malacology, zoology, ethnology, archaeology and art history. Included are diaries, scrapbooks, correspondence, research files, drawings, manuscripts, publications and teaching materials and drawings.
- ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) This link opens in a new windowIndexing and abstracting for journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews. Coverage is international and includes modern and contemporary art forms, both famous and lesser-known artists, movements, and trends.