Kinkaku-ji
Kyoto, Japan
1397
General Resources
General resources for art and architecture
- Art History LibguideAn introductory guide to all the art & art history resources available through the library.
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new windowAccess point for the Grove Dictionary of Art and several Oxford reference sources on art and architecture. The Grove Dictionary of Art is the most complete encyclopedia of art available in English, featuring nearly 50,000 articles on a variety of topics including art movements, artists biographies, and countries. Articles are signed, include brief bibliographies, and images. Images are searchable and made available through Oxfords partnerships with museums, galleries and arts organizations.
A Philosophy of Chinese Architecture by
A Philosophy of Chinese Architecture: Past, Present, Future examines the impact of Chinese philosophy on China#65533;s historic structures, as well as on modern Chinese urban aesthetics and architectural forms. For architecture in China moving forward, author David Wang posits a theory, the New Virtualism, which links current trends in computational design with long-standing Chinese philosophical themes. The book also assesses twentieth-century Chinese architecture through the lenses of positivism, consciousness (phenomenology), and linguistics (structuralism and poststructuralism). Illustrated with over 70 black-and-white images, this book establishes philosophical baselines for assessing architectural developments in China, past, present and future.
Call Number: NA2500 .W36 2017ISBN: 9781138884601Publication Date: 2016
The Oxford Companion to Architecture by
The Oxford Companion to Architecture is a new A-Z reference book on a popular and much-debated subject. It covers all aspects of architecture, from architects, building types, and movements and styles to materials, aspects of design, and definitions. It is particularly strong in its coverageof architecture around the world, and of modern and vernacular architecture. It has been written by a team of over 150 contributors, including many distinguished architects and academics, under the editorship of Dr Patrick Goode and two consultant editors. The Companion is strongly rooted in an approach to the study and presentation of architecture that avoids the art-historical approach and looks instead at its social, technical, and practical aspects. It explores why buildings look as they do, and approaches architecture not as a fine art, but as ameans of solving certain social and technical problems while creating a visual effect. Because buildings are nearly always the product of specific social, political, individual, or religious requirements, rather than of abstract artistic expression, the Companion pays particular attention to building types, and to how the architect's achievement can be appreciated within the contextin which they were building. It covers not only the familiar building types (cathedrals, mosques, houses), but also those which are more obscure and whose architectural merits are sometimes overlooked (bus garages, power stations, or multi-storey car parks). It also gives a fairly broad answer tothe question 'what is architecture?' by including the contribution of vernacular architecture, and structures designed by engineers.As well as taking account of the social dimension, the Companion examines the technical aspects that influence architectural expression, and offers a detailed appraisal of materials, structures, and services in architecture. It also explains why certain visual effects were important at certainperiods - for example, why proportion amounted to an obsession with Palladio but is neglected by many 20th-century architects; and why some modern architects, such as Bruno Taut, were sensitive to the opportunities of colour, while others seemed quite indifferent. The Companion covers all periods, from the beginnings of architecture in ancient Egypt up to the present day. It is worldwide in scope, giving equal weight to architecture in Asia, Africa, the Middle East, and South America as to the more familiar examples from Western Europe and the United States.The entries provide criticism, analysis, and value judgements, as well as information, making it an indispensable reference for architects, designers, and teachers and students of architecture and architectural history.Also available online for purchase by institutions from the Oxford Digital Reference Shelf (www.oxford-digitalreference.com) offering flexible search and browse functionality and multi-access either through Oxford Reference Online (www.oxfordreference.com) or as a stand-alone resource.
Call Number: Ref 720 O98ISBN: 9780198605683Publication Date: 2009
Encyclopedia of Vernacular Architecture of the World by
Vernacular - or traditional - architecture encompasses most of the buildings of the world. This encyclopedia is the first to show the remarkable diversity of the buildings constructed and lived in by the people of over a thousand cultures. The first of the three volumes focuses on the theories, principles and philosophy that underpin traditional architecture. Volumes 2 and 3 consider these principles within specific cultural and societal contexts. As building traditions vary widely within some countries and extend across the political boundaries of others, the encyclopedia considers vernacular architecture within its cultural rather than its national contexts. Richly illustrated with photographs, line drawings and maps, the work is also supported by a glossary, a lexicon, and the largest bibliography on the subject ever published. This work will be an inspiration and resource for architects, anthropologists, folklorists and geographers, and important for all who help shape housing and conservation policies.
Call Number: Ref 721 E56ISBN: 0521564220Publication Date: 1997
International Dictionary of Architects and Architecture by
In two volumes, the International Dictionary of Architecture covers the history of architecture from ancient Greece to the present. More than 400 critics of Western architecture have contributed to this text.
Call Number: Ref 720.9 I61ISBN: 1558620893Publication Date: 1993
The Penguin Dictionary of Architecture and Landscape Architecture by
The Penguin Dictionary of Architecture and Landscape Architecture constitutes a complete revision and expansion -- with the addition of the increasingly popular subject of landscape architecture -- of a work that has long been recognized as the standard in its field. Entirely reset and reillustrated, this edition includes many new entries on American architects and architecture. Highly readable, thoroughly cross-referenced, and with bibliographies for further reading, this is an essential reference for architects, students of architecture, and general readers with an interest in the field.
Call Number: Ref 720.3 F597p 1998ISBN: 0670880175Publication Date: 1999
Encyclopedia of Architecture: design, engineering, and construction by
Now, with all of its five volumes completed, Encyclopedia of Architecture will surely become the standard in the field. Its broad coverage focuses on architectural processes & design, materials, construction methods & management but also encompasses, biographies of leading architects, architectural history, articles on architectural aesthetics, literature & criticism, listings on current laws & regulations, & information on leading firms & schools. Includes 3,000 illustrations & 500 tables. The Encyclopedia has been sponsored by the American Institute of Architects.
Call Number: Ref 720.3 E564ISBN: 0471633518Publication Date: 1990
Architecture: elements, materials, forms by
By way of more than 2,000 years of architectural history, this richly illustrated book defines and shows all the major components of the art--from theory, plans, and models to structural elements such as columns, arches, and domes, to materials and decorative elements. With beautiful color photographs on virtually every page, and precise captions that point directly to important aspects of each photo, this book provides an easy-to-use visual grammar of the nearly infinite variety with which the elements of architecture have been used in buildings across the ages and around the world--from Western Europe and Greece to the Americas, the Middle East, China, Japan, India, and Africa. Each entry includes a definition, illustrated examples, and detailed analysis and explanation, all presented in the context of architecture's historical evolution. Architecture frequently juxtaposes famous and lesser-known buildings from widely different times and places, providing delightful surprises for the expert as well as a fresh, informative, and pleasurable introduction for general readers and students.
Call Number: Ref 720 P954sXISBN: 9780691141503Publication Date: 2009
Oxford Dictionary of Art & Artists by Call Number: Online AccessISBN: 0191782769Publication Date: 2015
Guide to the Literature of Art History by Call Number: Ref 016.7072 G946 2005ISBN: 0838908780Publication Date: 2005An annotated record of the best art and architecture books and journals published since 1980, Guide to the Literature of Art History 2 is the authoritative, must-have resource for all art history students, institutions, and agencies.
Constructing the Colonized Land: Entwined Perspectives of East Asia Around WWII by
Examining colonized cities in East Asia, this book brings together a range of different perspectives across both space and time. European, Chinese, Taiwanese, Korean and Japanese discourses are examined, with a range of complementary and conflicting views on the design of urban and architectural forms, the political, institutional.
Call Number: Online accessISBN: 9781472404367Publication Date: 2014
