Skip to main content

HIST 398-1: History Honors Seminar (Boyle): Reference Resources

Reference Sources: An Overview

Historical research is often informed by reference materials from many disciplines. Reference online and in print brings together some of the library's many reference works while providing tips on how to locate others.  The types of works profiled in this guide include dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauri, grammar and usage guides, biographical sources, sources for quick facts, directories and bibliographies, across the disciplines.

Reference resources come in several formats.  Online resources will be shown by title in NUsearch.  Print resources are also listed in NUsearch, by title.  Print resources which do not circulate are available in the main library periodical room.  For more information, inquire at the Research Help Desk, send us an IM, email or call us.

Dictionaries

Selected Subject Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Barbuto, Domenica M. American Settlement Houses and Progressive Social Reform: An Encyclopedia of the American Settlement Movement. Phoenix, Ariz.: Oryx Press, 1999. Oak Grove Library Center 362.55709 B241a.

Bliss, Binder, Rudolph M. Binder, and William Dwight Porter Bliss. The New Encyclopedia of Social Reform, including All Social Reform Movements and Activities, and the Economic, Industrial, and Sociological Facts and Statistics of All Countries and All Social Objects. New ed. New York: Funk & Wagnalls Company, 1908. Oak Grove Library Center Large 303 B642.

Berkshire Encyclopedia of China: Modern and Historic Views of the World's Newest and Oldest Global Power. Great Barrington, Mass.: Berkshire Pub. Group, 2009. Internet. Major encyclopedia on China.

Bullough, Vern L. Encyclopedia of Birth Control. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 2001. Main Library Stacks 363.9603 E56.

Couling, Samuel. Encyclopaedia Sinica. Folkestone: Brill, 2007. "Couling's work, published in 1917, covered so much ground with such accuracy and consistency that it has become established as an essential tool for scholars wishing to understand how the new China was seen and interpreted at the time." Internet.

DeConde, Alexander, Richard Dean Burns, and Fredrik Logevall. Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy. 2nd ed. New York: Scribner, 2002. Main Library 1 East - Reference Section 327.73003 E56 and Internet.

Ditmore, Melissa Hope. Encyclopedia of Prostitution and Sex Work. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2006. Oak Grove Library Center 306.7403 E56.

Donnelly, James S. Encyclopedia of Irish History and Culture. Farmington Hills, MI: Macmillan Reference USA, 2004. Oak Grove Library Center 941.5003 E563.

Dumenil, Lynn. The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Social History. New York: Oxford University Press, 2012. Internet.

Franceour, Robert T, Raymond J. Noonan, and Beldina Opiyo-Omolo. The Continuum Complete International Encyclopedia of Sexuality. New York, NY: Continuum, 2004. Oak Grove Library Center 306.703 C762.

Grossman, James R., Ann Durkin Keating, and Janice L. Reiff. The Encyclopedia of Chicago. Chicago, Ill.: University of Chicago Press, 2004. Main Library 1 East - Reference Section 977.311 E56 and Internet.

Hall, Michael R. Historical Dictionary of Haiti. Lanham: Scarecrow Press, 2012. Internet.

Jentleson, Bruce W., Thomas G. Paterson, and Nicholas X. Rizopoulos. Encyclopedia of U.S. Foreign Relations. New York: Oxford University Press, 1997. Oak Grove Library Center  327.73 E557.

Kinsbruner, Jay, and Erick Detlef Langer. Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture. 2nd ed. Detroit: Gale/Cengage, 2008. Internet.

McGonigal, David, and Lynn. Woodworth. Antarctica and the Arctic: The Complete Encyclopedia. Willowdale, Ont.: Firefly Books, 2001. Oak Grove Library Center 998 M146a.

Mason, Patrick L. Encyclopedia of Race and Racism. 2nd ed. Detroit: Macmillan Reference USA, 2013. Internet  Examines the anthropological, sociological, historical, economic, and scientific theories of race and racism in the modern era. 

Merriman, John and Jay Winter. Europe since 1914: Encyclopedia of the Age of War and Reconstruction. Detroit: Charles Scribner's Sons, 2006. Internet.

Middleton, John, and Joseph Calder Miller. New Encyclopedia of Africa. Detroit, Mich.: Charles Scribner's Sons, 2008. Internet.

Ness, Immanuel. The International Encyclopedia of Revolution and Protest: 1500 to the Present. Malden, Mass.: Wiley-Blackwell, 2009. Internet.

Niiya, Brian. Encyclopedia of Japanese American History: An A-to-Z Reference from 1868 to the Present. Updated ed. New York: Facts on File, 2001. Main Library 1 East - Reference Section 973.04956 J35 2001.

Okihiro, Gary Y. Encyclopedia of Japanese American Internment. Santa Barbara, California: Greenwood, an Imprint of ABC-CLIO, LLC, 2013. Internet.

Romero Salvado, Francisco J. Historical Dictionary of the Spanish Civil War. Lanham: Scarecrow Press, 2013. Internet.

Rothermund, Dietmar. The Routledge Companion to Decolonization. London: Routledge, 2006. MAIN Library 325.30904 R846r.

Schaefer, Richard T. Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity, and Society. Los Angeles: SAGE Publications, 2008. Internet

Snow, David A. The Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Social and Political Movements. Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley & Sons, 2014. Internet.

Song, Yuwu. Encyclopedia of Chinese-American Relations. Jefferson, N.C.: McFarland & Co., 2006. Oak Grove Library Center 327.73051 E56 and Internet.

Zhao, Xiaojian, and Edward J.W. Park. Asian Americans: An Encyclopedia of Social, Cultural, Economic, and Political History. Santa Barbara, California: Greenwood, 2014. Internet.

Selected Bibliographies

Oxford Bibliographies Online. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2010. Internet Growing collection of bibliographies on a variety of topics within specific subject modules.   Relevant modules include African Studies, Atlantic History, Chinese Studies, International Relations, Latin American Studies, Latino Studies, Political Science.  These annotated bibliographies, compiled by experts in their fields, aim to survey the most important works on a particular topic.

Barbuto, Domenica M. The American Settlement Movement: A Bibliography. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1999. Oak Grove Library Center 016.36255 B241a.

Beisner, Robert L. American Foreign Relations since 1600: A Guide to the Literature. 2nd ed. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 2003. Main Library 1 East - Reference Section 016.32773 G946 2003.

Benslimane, Sadika., Corinne. Moncel, and Dominique. Nyacka. Les femmes dans les pays en développement: (Guide des thèses de doctorat soutenues dans les universités françaises de 1970 a 1994). Montreuil, France: Réseau Femmes & Développement, 1995. Oak Grove Library Center 016.3054 B474f.

Bissainthe, Max. Dictionnaire de bibliographie haïtienne. Washington: Scarecrow Press, 1951. Oak Grove Library Center 016.84899 H711b and Internet.

Bissainthe, Max. Dictionnaire de bibliographie haïtienne, 1.- Supplement. Metuchen, N. J.: Scarecrow Press, 1973. Main Library 1 East - Reference Section 016.9729 B623d sup.

Centro de Información y Documentación Científica. La Guerra Civil, 1936-1939. Madrid: Centro de Información y Documentación Científica CINDOC, 1996. Oak Grove Library Center 016.946 B5824 no.7.

Conrad, L. J. Bibliography of Antarctic Exploration: Expedition Accounts from 1768 to 1960. 1st ed. Washougal, Wash.: L.J. Conrad, 1999. Oak Grove Library Center Large 016.91989 C754b.

Denucé, Jean. Bibliographie Antarctique. Bruxelles: Hayez, Imprimeur de L'Académie Royale de Belgique, 1913. Oak Grove Library Center 016.998 D415b.

Faris, Khan, and Khan, Mahmood Hasan. Egyptian Women in Agricultural Development: An Annotated Bibliography. Boulder, Colo.: L. Rienner, 1994. Oak Grove Library Center 016.96205 F228e.

France. Direction de la Documentation. Bibliothèque. Les femmes: Guide bibliographique. Paris: Documentation Française, 1974. Oak Grove Library Center 016.301412 F815f.

Guilbert, Lowit, Zylberberg-Hocquard, Lowit, Nicole, and Zylberberg-Hocquard, Marie Hélène. Travail et condition féminine: Bibliographie commentée. Paris: Éditions de la Courtille, 1977. Oak Grove Library Center 016.3314 G953t.

Ito, Leslie A., and Brian Niiya. Japanese Americans during World War II: A Selected, Annotated Bibliography of Materials Available at UCLA. 2nd ed. Los Angeles, Calif.: UCLA Asian American Studies Center Reading Room/Library, 1997. Main Library Stacks Large Section Large 940.5317 I89j.

Jewell, Frank. Annotated Bibliography of Chicago History. Chicago: Chicago Historical Society, 1979. Main Library 1 East - Reference Section 016.977311 J59a.

Laguerre, Michel S. The Complete Haitiana: A Bibliographic Guide to the Scholarly Literature, 1900-1980. Millwood, N.Y.: Kraus International Publications, 1982. Main Library 1 East - Reference Section 016.97294 L181c.

Lust, John. Index Sinicus: A Catalogue of Articles Relating to China in Periodicals and Other Collective Publications, 1920-1955. Cambridge, Eng.: W. Heffer, 1964. Oak Grove Library Center Large 016.951 L972i.

McCutcheon, James M. China and America: A Bibliography of Interactions, Foreign and Domestic. Honolulu: University Press of Hawaii, 1972. MAIN Library Stacks Large 016.30129 M133c.

National Committee on United States-China Relations. An Annotated Guide to Modern China. New York: The Committee, 1967. MAIN Library Stacks 016.951 A615.

Ölschleger, Hans-Dieter., Eva. König, and Ölschleger, Barbara. Japaner in der neuen Welt: Eine teilannotierte Bibliographie von Werken zu japanischen Einwanderern in Nordamerika in europäischen Sprachen. München: Iudicium, 1997. Styberg Library Stacks E184.J3 O45.

Paul, Barbara Dotts., and Paul, Justus F. Wisconsin History: An Annotated Bibliography. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1999. Oak Grove Library Center 016.9775 P324w.

Perkins, M. Helen., and Mildred F. Berry. A Preliminary Checklist for a Bibliography on Jane Addams. Rockford, Ill., 1960. Styberg Library Stacks Oversize HV28.A4 A1P5.

Pratt, Frantz. Haiti, Guide to the Periodical Literature in English, 1800-1990. New York: Greenwood Press, 1991. Main Library 1 East - Reference Section 016.97294 H153.

Rodríguez De La Torre, Fernando. Bibliografía de las Brigadas Internacionales y de la participación de extranjeros a favor de la República, 1936-1939. Albacete: Instituto de Estudios Albacetenses Don Juan Manuel, 2006. Oak Grove Library Center 946.081 R6966b.

Russell, Hansson, Van Zyl, and Hansson, Desirée. A Selected Bibliography on Male Violence against Women and Girls in South Africa. Cape Town: Institute of Criminology, University of Cape Town, 1992. Oak Grove Library Center Large 016.36283 R962s.

Scheidegger, Élisabeth. Población y desarrollo: La evolución demográfica y el desarrollo económico y social de América Latina: Bibliografía seleccionada, 1960-1974. Ginebra, Suiza: Instituto Internacional de Estudios Laborales, 1980. Oak Grove Library Center 016.3046 S358p.

Seekings, Jeremy. South Africa's Townships 1980-1991: An Annotated Bibliography. Geleentheidstuk No. 16. Johannesburg]: Research Unit for Sociology of Development, University of Stellenbosch, 1986.Oak Grove Library Center Large 016.30776 S451s.

Spence, Sydney A. Antarctica: Its Books & Papers from the Earliest to the Present Time. Mitcham (Sy.): S. A. Spence, 1966. Oak Grove Library Center 016.998 S744a.

Tam, Siumi Maria, and Sidney C. H. Cheung, Culture and Society of Hong Kong: A Bibliography. Hong Kong: Dept. of Anthropology, The Chinese University of Hong Kong, 1999. Oak Grove Library Center 016.95125 C968.