Research Guides: Schapiro Northwestern Academy for Chicago Public Schools: Chicago News and Information

Chicago News

The information sources on this page are generally considered to be primary sources, in that they provide first-hand accounts, data, or evidence of different phenomenon, events, people, and ideas within the city of Chicago. These sources are awaiting your own scholarly analysis.

Local newspapers are a great place to learn about stories that might exhibit courage, conflict, families, the power of communities, or movements. NUL provides access to the following newspapers with your NU NetID and password.

News Sources: Chicago Area Newspapers
While more specific newspapers from Chicago, like the Chicago Defender, Evanston Review, and Hyde Park Herald are also available, below are links to current issues of the following major newspapers:
- Chicago Tribune, 1985-present
- Chicago Sun-Times, 2006-present
- US Newsstream includes 1989-present.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers includes 1910-1975

PressReader provides recent issues of the Chicago Tribune and the Chicago Sun-Times along with other national and international newspapers and news magazines. You can see them as they appear on their websites and in print. Expand the CATALOG display to find specific publication.

Freely available Chicago news outlets.

WBEZ 91.5FM News
Local radio news coverage of the City of Chicago and surrounding area.
Block Club Chicago
2017-present. "Block Club Chicago is a nonprofit news organization dedicated to delivering reliable, nonpartisan and essential coverage of Chicago’s diverse neighborhoods."
DNAInfo Chicago
No longer updated but has stories 2009-2017. "DNAinfo is Chicago's leading neighborhood news source. We deliver up-to-the-minute reports on entertainment, education, politics, crime, sports, and dining. Our award-winning journalists find the stories - big or small - that matter most to Chicagoans."

Additional Information about Chicago's neighborhoods

Data can provide quantitative information about Chicago's neighborhoods and their resources or lack thereof. Data can also be used to inform an argument, add statistics to make a story more credible, or to backup personal experience.

City of Chicago Data Portal
The City of Chicago's open data portal lets you find city data, lets you find facts about your neighborhood, lets you create maps and graphs about the city, and lets you freely download the data for your own analysis. Includes data and maps on education, the environment, public safety, and transportation, among other topics.
U.S. Census Bureau Data Navigator
The U.S. Census gathers data every 10 years on the population's demographics, housing, families and living arrangements, computer and internet use, education, health, economic demographics, transportation, and income. It breaks down information by zip code, so you can zero in on a local area.
Chicago's Department of Cultural Affairs
The Department of Cultural Affairs and Special Events (DCASE) is dedicated to enriching Chicago’s artistic vitality and cultural vibrancy. This includes fostering the development of Chicago’s non-profit arts sector, independent working artists and for-profit arts businesses; providing a framework to guide the City’s future cultural and economic growth, via the 2012 Chicago Cultural Plan; marketing the City’s cultural assets to a worldwide audience; and presenting high-quality, free and affordable cultural programs for residents and visitors.
Chicago Area Research Guide
This library research guide links out to a wealth of information on Chicago's history, laws, and government.