Skip to main content

Research Resources Forum 2017: Schedule

Schedule

 Coffee / Registration Welcome  (8:30 AM - 8:50 AM)      
 Plenary Session  (9:00 AM - 9:45 AM)      
 Forum Sessions  (9:55 AM - 12:30 PM) 
 Lunch  (12:40–1:15 PM)           
 Meet & Greet the Subject Specialists         (1:20–2:00 PM)             
 Open Labs                                                  (2:00–3:00 PM)             
 Library Tours                                              (2:00–3:00 PM)             
     
Click below to see the complete schedule.
                                                 
NOTE: Room assignments may change, please see the final schedule on the day of the event.
          
Full Schedule

Morning Sessions

Plenary Session

         The Plenary session will provide an overview on how the Northwestern University Libraries support and facilitate researchers through services and collections. This session will help place the library in the context of the research process.    
 
   Location:  Main Library, 1 South
Time:  9:00 am - 9:45 am
Presenters:  Cara List, Head, Art Collection and Liaison for Art & Art History
   Charlotte Cubbage, Learning Services Librarian, Liaison for English, Radio/TV/Film, Performance Studies, Theatre, Comparative Literatures, American Studies
   Geoff Morse, Research Services Manager, Liaison for Religious Studies and Linguistics.

Area Studies Panel

  This will be a panel session featuring Northwestern librarians sharing their expertise and insights into doing research and acquiring materials from various parts of the world.    
 
   Location:  Ver Steeg, 3rd floor, South Tower
Time:  9:55 am - 10:40 am
Panelists:  Kathleen Bethel, African American Studies Librarian and Liaison for Caribbean Studies and Gender & Sexuality Studies
   John Dorr, Leader of Digital Scholarship Services, Liaison for French & Italian, Turkish Studies
   Michelle Guittar, Librarian for Latin American Studies, Liaison for Spanish & Portuguese
   Florence Mugambi, African Studies Librarian
   Li (Qunying) Li, Asian Studies Librarian, Liaison for Education & Social Policy, and Liaison for Asian American Studies
   Jeannette Moss, User Education Librarian and Liaison for Slavic Languages and Literatures

Beyond Northwestern: Research Libraries and Collections in Chicago

  Join Northwestern University librarians on a virtual tour of the rich resources available in libraries and repositories throughout the greater Chicago area. In this session, the instructors will look at the way the various libraries' web sites can help identify research materials. Included will be the University of Chicago, the Center for Research Libraries, the Newberry Library, and the Chicago History Museum, among others.    
 
   Location:  Forum Room, 2799, 2nd Floor, South Tower
Time:  10:50 - 11:35 am
Presenters:  Harriet Lightman, Head, Research & Learning Services, Liaison for History & American Studies
   William McHugh, Liaison for Classics and Philosophy
   Ann Aler, Geospatial & Cartographic Specialist

Cite Smarter & Manage Your Research: An Introduction to EndNote & Zotero

  In an increasingly complex and fractured information landscape keeping track of your research can be an overwhelming task. Fortunately, tools are available to help. In this session we will introduce you to the bibliographic tools EndNote and Zotero that can help you organize your research materials and save you countless hours in the course of your reading and writing. EndNote can help you gather information from remote databases, organize and sort records and notes, and automatically format citations and bibliographies in a finished paper. Zotero is a freely available citation management software that works through a web browser. Zotero is easy to use and allows you to collect, manage, and cite your research sources. Both Zotero and EndNote can be invaluable resources to anyone pursuing research at the graduate level.    
 
   Location:  Forum Room, 2799, 2nd Floor, South Tower
Time:  11:45 am - 12:30 pm
Presenters:  Jason Kruse, Undergraduate Engagement Librarian and Liaison for Sociology
   Steve Adams, Liaison for Environmental Studies, Life Sciences, Psychology

Copyright and Your Research and Publishing

  What do you need to know about managing your own copyrights and navigating use of copyrighted material in your research? Throughout your career at Northwestern, you will be creating material to which you own the copyright: presentations, papers, digital media, reviews, articles, and your dissertation. You may also want to use others' copyrighted material in your work. This session will help you understand the basics of copyright, what and how it protects, when to ask for permission, and how to prepare to publish your book or article. The basics of a publishing agreement and a brief introduction to open access and other emerging publishing and impact models will be included.    
 
   Location:  Video Theater, 2712, 2nd Floor, South Tower
Time:  9:55 am - 10:40 am
Presenter:  Liz Hamilton, Intellectual Property Specialist

Data Literacy: Finding and Working with Research Data

  The Library's Social Science Data Services (SSDS) assists Northwestern researchers acquire and use data. Participants will learn about tools and services to help identify, access and analyze sources of qualitative and quantitative data. The Libraries subscribes to a number of resources to help you get started, including the Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR), the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research, Gallup Analytics, ProQuest Statistical Insight, and DataPlanet Statistical Datasets.    
 
   Location:  Library Classroom, B238
Time:  11:45 am - 12:30 pm
Presenter:  Kelsey Rydland, GIS/Data Analyst
   Anne Zald, Assistant Head of Research & Learning Services for Government Information, Business & Geospatial Services, Liaison for Social Science Data and Regulatory Compliance

Data Management

            Will you be creating new datasets as a part of your graduate school research agenda? Either on your own or as part of a research team? Through surveys, interviews, fieldwork or in a laboratory? Most federal funding agencies as well as private funding agencies require that a data management plan be created at the outset of a research project. These agencies and many journals also require that data sets underlying publication be shared. Session participants will explore tools and best practices for organizing, managing and describing your data to ensure its long term use and preservation as well as to ensure compliance with agency or publisher requirements.    
 
   Location:  Library Classroom B238
Time:  10:50 am - 11:35 am
Presenter:  Cunera Buys, Data Management Planning Librarian and Liaison for Earth & Planetary Sciences, and Communication Sciences & Disorders

Documenting the History and Culture of the Long 1960s: Primary Sources from the Libraries’ Distinctive Collections

  This session will introduce graduate students to the Libraries’ extensive holdings of primary-source material documenting the social and cultural aspects of one of the most momentous periods of the 20th century. This open lab will be organized as a “fair” of sorts, with tables displaying original materials arrayed around the perimeter of a reading room in Deering Library. Each table will be dedicated to one of the units of the Libraries’ Distinctive Collections, laden with representative ’60s-related material from that collection, and staffed by the respective curator or head. Students will be able wander from table to table, viewing and handling the materials, and discussing with the curators how these objects may be useful to their work. The session would be kicked off by 5 minutes of prefatory remarks by Martin Antonetti about the Distinctive Collections workgroup, an overview of our current 1960s collections, and the Libraries’ particular efforts to support and expand research on this era. He will introduce all the curators and heads in the room and then allow students to follow their particular interests ad lib.    
 
   Location:  Music Library Reading Room
Time:  11:45 am - 12:30 pm
Presenter:  Martin Antonetti, Director of Distinctive Collections

Establishing Your Biological Sciences Research Workflow

  The Northwestern University Library has vast electronic and print collections and a plethora of tools and services to help you establish your biological sciences research workflow. In this short workshop we will introduce you to advanced tools for searching literature (Web of Science, EMBASE, Nowomics, etc.), finding protocols and procedures for experiments (Springer Protocols, JoVE, etc. ), and automating the discovery of new articles that align with your interests. We will also cover NU library basics such as requesting books and articles, configuring Google Scholar, and accessing our collections from off-campus.    
 
   Location:  Room 2628, 2nd Floor, East Tower
Time:  10:50 am - 11:35 am
Presenter:  Steve Adams, Liaison for Biomedical Engineering, Environmental Studies, Life Sciences, Psychology

Free and Open: How the Internet has changed Scholarly Publishing

  Open access is the free availability of scholarly literature on the internet for the public good. What began as a controversial movement to remove technical and legal restrictions on sharing research has since become a mainstream practice in scholarly publishing, taking various forms across academic disciplines. This session will cover the history of open access scholarship, address major issues related to free online research publications, and introduce resources available to authors for sharing and publishing research online.    
 
   Location:  Room 2628, 2nd Floor, East Tower
Time:  11:45 am - 12:30 pm
Presenter:  Chris Diaz, Digital Publishing Services Librarian

Geospatial Thinking: Mapping Your Research

  Geospatial science is a broad and fast-growing discipline that allows researchers the ability to analyze spatial-temporal aspects of people, places and processes. The principal means for studying this phenomenon is through the use of GIS or geographic information systems. The US Department of Labor has identified GIS as one of the three most important industries of the 21st century. This discussion provides an introduction to this increasingly important technology. This presentation will provide the basics of what GIS is, how it pertains to your research interests and the resources available to assist you here at Northwestern. Desktop GIS, web GIS, and how to locate data will all be covered in this presentation.    
 
   Location:  Library Classroom, B238
Time:  9:55 am - 10:40 am
Presenters:  Kelsey Rydland, GIS/Data Analyst
   Ann Aler, Geospatial & Cartographic Specialist

Living History: Using Oral History Resources

  This session will explore resources for oral history projects. Major focus will be on two vast archives of oral history material. The Visual History Archive of the Shoah Foundation contains nearly 52,000 video testimonies of survivors and other witnesses of the Holocaust taped in 56 countries and in 32 languages between 1994 and 1999. The History Makers Digital Archive is the largest African American oral video history archive in the world providing access to over 61,221 stories from oral history interviews with 1,195 historically significant African Americans are currently available. This session will focus on accessing and using these resources as well as providing some general information on locating other oral history materials and archives.    
 
   Location:  Room 2628, 2nd Floor, East Tower
Time:  9:55 am - 10:40 am
Presenter:  Harriet Lightman, Head, Research & Learning Services Liaison for History & American Studies
   Kathleen Bethel, African American Studies Librarian and Liaison for Caribbean Studies and Gender & Sexuality Studies.
   Geoff Morse, Research Services Manager, Liaison for Religious Studies and Linguistics.

Making Connections Through Transportation

  The Transportation Library’s unique collections support the research of students across the university from a broad range of disciplines including the humanities and social sciences. Although the library at first glance appears to be a “science/technology” collection, its multidisciplinary holdings have strong components in economics, history, city growth, urban studies, law enforcement, environmental studies, labor relations and many other subjects. This session will give you the opportunity to meet the librarians, learn more about our services and collections, learn about and view examples of how our collections have supported students' research and potentially discern new areas of discovery and exploration. You will also get a tour of our special and archival collections, with such highlights as materials promoting a Baghdad-to-Damascus bus tour in the 1930's, a scrapbook documenting an Iowa-to-San Francisco road trip in a Model T in 1915, and timetables and menus related to Pan Am’s first transatlantic jet service in the 1950's.    
 
   Location:  Transportation Library, 5th floor, North Tower
Time:  10:50 am - 11:35 am
Presenters:  Roberto Sarmiento, Head of Transportation Library
   Rachel Cole, Librarian, Transportation Library

Navigating the Secret World of Archives

  Personal papers, institutional records, documents, historic photos, and other primary sources are crucial to research in most humanities and social sciences fields. However, these unique materials can be difficult to track down—whether in digital or in physical format--because they are organized, indexed, and accessed very differently from books and periodicals. This session will serve as your personal GPS, helping you find your way to elusive archival and manuscript collections through NUL databases and other resources, and steering you through the next steps of successful primary source research.
  Session Handout
 
   Location:  Forum Room, 2799, 2nd Floor, South Tower
Time:  9:55 am - 10:40 am
Presenter:  Janet Olson, Assistant University Archivist

Newspapers & News Sources

  This session will provide an overview, and some search tipis, on the vast array of newspapers and news sources, including Readex/NewsBank, that are available to our community.    
 
   Location:  Video Theater, 2712, 2nd Floor, South Tower
Time:  10:50 am - 11:35 am
Presenters:  Anne Zald, Assistant Head of Research & Learning Services for Government Information, Business & Geospatial Services, Liaison for Social Science Data and Regulatory Compliance
   Geoff Morse, Research Services Manager, Liaison for Religious Studies and Linguistics

Research Computing Services

  Northwestern IT Research Computing Services helps researchers across campus to make full use of computing resources and expand their computational skills. This session will introduce you to the software, computational capabilities, and data storage available through the Quest High Performance Computing Cluster, NUWorkspace, and other resources. We will also discuss Research Computing Services’ consulting and training services, which can help you get started using the computing clusters, learn how to program or use statistical software programs, create compelling data visualizations, and strategize about data collection, data management, and research design.    
 
   Location:  Library Classroom, B234
Time:  11:45 am - 12:30 pm
Presenter:  Christina Maimone, Senior Computational Social Sciences Specialist, Academic & Research Technologies

Resources for Communication Studies

  The interdisciplinary nature of Communication Studies can leave some researchers with no idea where to begin. This session will provide attendees with an overview of a diverse collection of resources that cover areas such as technology, social networking, television, media studies, rhetoric, organizational communication, and health care. By the end of the session, attendees will be able to identify the appropriate database to begin their research; know how conduct effective keyword searches; and will know how to locate and take advantage of the services and resources available to them at the Libraries.    
 
   Location:  Library Classroom, B234
Time:  10:50 am - 11:35 am
Presenter:  Lauren McKeen, Liaison for Communication Studies

Take a Demographics High Dive

  Does your research explore questions about how people live, work, play, worship, etc.? Need to find numbers on population, racial or ethnic groups, employment, education, healthcare, religious affiliation, consumer behavior or voting (just to name a few)? Join us for a fast-paced overview of sources for demographic information that covers a wide variety of topics. Get advice on where to start looking, including major statistical resource indexes and government agencies. Gain understanding about when you need top level numbers as opposed to response-level survey data. Find out what numbers are tabulated at the national, state, or local levels. Learn a little about what numbers are publicly available and what may require special permission or need to be purchased. While most of the sources we touch on will cover the United States, some tips on foreign and international sources will also be offered. No experience with statistics or data analysis needed.    
 
   Location:  Library Classroom, B234
Time:  9:55 am - 10:40 am
Presenter:  John Hernandez, Web & Mobile Services Librarian, Liaison for Economics, Counseling, Latino/a Studies, Legal Studies

Theatre Studies

  The world's a stage, which vastly complicates research in the information age. This session highlights resources for both textual and performance aspects of drama and theatre. We will touch on primary source materials, image and video databases, archives, and electronic texts. We will also view a variety of secondary source materials appropriate to the interdisciplinary nature of theatre.    
 
   Location:  Video Theatre, 2712, 2nd Floor, South Tower
Time:  11:45 am - 12:30 pm
Presenter:  Charlotte Cubbage, Learning Services Librarian and Liaison for English, Radio/TV/Film, Dance, Drama, Performance Studies, Theatre, Comparative Literatures, American Studies

Afternoon Events and Open Labs

No registration is required for any of the following sessions

  • Meet the Subject Specialists: Coffee and Conversation
    Drop by the Ver Steeg Faculty Lounge on Monday, September 18 after 1:20pm to meet the Library's subject specialists, learn about our services and collections and share coffee, cookies, and informal conversation. All are welcome to come and stay as long as your schedule permits.
     
  • Library Tours
    Join librarians from the Africana, Archives, Art, Government Information, Main, Music, Special CollectionsTransportation libraries, and the United Library of the Garrett Seminary for tours of these collections.  A tour of the main library will be available. Tours of the Libraries and Collections will start at approximately 2 p.m., from a gathering point in Ver Steeg.

 

  • Mobilize your research

    Mobile devices offer increasing options for doing your research on the go. Bring your mobile device and we will highlight useful apps to aid your research productivity and help you efficiently access the library's electronic resources from anywhere. This session will be held in library room 1 South from 2:00 pm to 3:00 pm.
    Session led by John Hernandez, Web & Mobile Services Librarian and Liaison for Economics, Counseling, & Latino/a Studies and Anne Marie Sticksel, User Spaces Coordinator.

     
  • Open lab for EndNote and Zotero
    This session will be held in library room 1 South from 2:00 pm to 3:00 pm. If you could not make the earlier session on EndNote and Zotero, or would just like to get some questions answered and get some hands on practice, this session will provide both practice time and support.
    Session led by Jason Kruse, Liaison for Sociology and Geoffrey Morse, Liaison for Religious Studies and Linguistics.
     
  • 5 (or possibly more) free resources to help you succeed at NU

    In addition to the resources and services that the library offers, learn about other free (or low cost) resources that are available to members of the Northwestern community. Learn about:  1) NUsites, a service to help you  build and manage websites and blogs; 2) Lynda.com, a library of online courses to help you learn major software programs as well as workplace skills like presentations, leadership and career development; 3) Box, an online space for unlimited file storing or sharing; 4) Free or low cost software, software titles that are offered for academic and/or personal use from Microsoft Office to SPSS; 5) ORCiD, a service assigning you a persistent digital identifier that distinguishes you from every other researcher; and 6) so much more!
    Session led by John Dorr, Leader of Digital Scholarship Services, Liaison for French & Italian, Turkish Studies and Steve Adams, Liaison for Environmental Studies, Life Sciences, Psychology.