Skip to main content

Research Resources Forum 2017: 11:45 AM sessions

11:45 Forum Sessions

Cite Smarter & Manage Your Research: An Introduction to EndNote & Zotero

  In an increasingly complex and fractured information landscape keeping track of your research can be an overwhelming task. Fortunately, tools are available to help. In this session we will introduce you to the bibliographic tools EndNote and Zotero that can help you organize your research materials and save you countless hours in the course of your reading and writing. EndNote can help you gather information from remote databases, organize and sort records and notes, and automatically format citations and bibliographies in a finished paper. Zotero is a freely available citation management software that works through a web browser. Zotero is easy to use and allows you to collect, manage, and cite your research sources. Both Zotero and EndNote can be invaluable resources to anyone pursuing research at the graduate level.    
 
   Location:  Forum Room,2799, 2nd Floor, South Tower
Time:  11:45 am - 12:30 pm
Presenters:  Jason Kruse, Undergraduate Engagement Librarian and Liaison for Sociology
   Steve Adams, Liaison for Biomedical Engineering, Environmental Studies, Life Sciences, Psychology

Data Literacy: Finding and Working with Research Data

  The Library's Social Science Data Services (SSDS) assists Northwestern researchers acquire and use data. Participants will learn about tools and services to help identify, access and analyze sources of qualitative and quantitative data. The Libraries subscribes to a number of resources to help you get started, including the Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR), the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research, Gallup Analytics, ProQuest Statistical Insight, and DataPlanet Statistical Datasets.    
 
   Location:  Library Classroom, B238
Time:  11:45 am - 12:30 pm
Presenter:  Kelsey Rydland, GIS/Data Analyst
   Anne Zald, Assistant Head of Research & Learning Services for Government Information, Business & Geospatial Services, Liaison for Social Science Data and Regulatory Compliance

Documenting the History and Culture of the Long 1960s: Primary Sources from the Libraries’ Distinctive Collections

  This session will introduce graduate students to the Libraries’ extensive holdings of primary-source material documenting the social and cultural aspects of one of the most momentous periods of the 20th century. This open lab will be organized as a “fair” of sorts, with tables displaying original materials arrayed around the perimeter of a reading room in Deering Library. Each table will be dedicated to one of the units of the Libraries’ Distinctive Collections, laden with representative ’60s-related material from that collection, and staffed by the respective curator or head. Students will be able wander from table to table, viewing and handling the materials, and discussing with the curators how these objects may be useful to their work. The session would be kicked off by 5 minutes of prefatory remarks by Martin Antonetti about the Distinctive Collections workgroup, an overview of our current 1960s collections, and the Libraries’ particular efforts to support and expand research on this era. He will introduce all the curators and heads in the room and then allow students to follow their particular interests ad lib.    
 
   Location:  Music Library Reading Room
Time:  11:45 am - 12:30 pm
Presenter:  Martin Antonetti, Director of Distinctive Collections


Free and Open: How the Internet has changed Scholarly Publishing

  Open access is the free availability of scholarly literature on the internet for the public good. What began as a controversial movement to remove technical and legal restrictions on sharing research has since become a mainstream practice in scholarly publishing, taking various forms across academic disciplines. This session will cover the history of open access scholarship, address major issues related to free online research publications, and introduce resources available to authors for sharing and publishing research online.    
 
   Location:  Room 2628, 2nd Floor, East Tower
Time:  11:45 am - 12:30 pm
Presenter:  Chris Diaz, Digital Publishing Services Librarian


Research Computing Services

Northwestern IT Research Computing Services helps researchers across campus to make full use of computing resources and expand their computational skills. This session will introduce you to the software, computational capabilities, and data storage available through the Quest High Performance Computing Cluster, NUWorkspace, and other resources. We will also discuss Research Computing Services’ consulting and training services, which can help you get started using the computing clusters, learn how to program or use statistical software programs, create compelling data visualizations, and strategize about data collection, data management, and research design.

 
   Location:  Library Classroom, B234
Time:  11:45 am - 12:30 pm
Presenter:  Christina Maimone, Senior Computational Social Sciences Specialist, Academic & Research Technologies

Theatre Studies

  The world's a stage, which vastly complicates research in the information age. This session highlights resources for both textual and performance aspects of drama and theatre. We will touch on primary source materials, image and video databases, archives, and electronic texts. We will also view a variety of secondary source materials appropriate to the interdisciplinary nature of theatre.    
 
   Location:  Video Theatre, 2nd Floor, South Tower
Time:  11:45 am - 12:30 pm
Presenter:  Charlotte Cubbage, Learning Services Librarian, Liaison for English, Radio/TV/Film, Performance Studies, Theatre, Comparative Literatures, American Studies