Skip to main content

Research Resources Forum 2017: 9:55 AM sessions

9:55 am Forum Sessions

Area Studies Panel

  This will be a panel session featuring Northwestern librarians sharing their expertise and insights into doing research and acquiring materials from various parts of the world.    
 
   Location:  Ver Steeg Faculty Lounge, 3rd floor, South Tower
Time:  9:55 am - 10:40 am
Panelists:  Kathleen Bethel, African American Studies Librarian and Liaison for Gender Studies
   John Dorr, Head, Digital Scholarship Services, Liaison for French & Italian, Turkish Studies
   Michelle Guittar, Librarian for Latin American Studies, Liaison for Spanish & Portuguese
   Florence Mugambi, African Studies Librarian
   Li (Qunying) Li,  Librarian for East Asian Studies, South Asian Studies and South East Asian Studies, Education & Social Policy, Asian American Studies
   Jeannette Moss, User Education Librarian and Liaison for Slavic Languages and Literatures

Copyright and Your Research and Publishing

  What do you need to know about managing your own copyrights and navigating use of copyrighted material in your research? Throughout your career at Northwestern, you will be creating material to which you own the copyright: presentations, papers, digital media, reviews, articles, and your dissertation. You may also want to use others' copyrighted material in your work. This session will help you understand the basics of copyright, what and how it protects, when to ask for permission, and how to prepare to publish your book or article. The basics of a publishing agreement and a brief introduction to open access and other emerging publishing and impact models will be included.    
 
   Location:  Video Theatre, 2nd Floor, South Tower
Time:  9:55 am - 10:40 am
Presenter:  Liz Hamilton, Intellectual Property Specialist

Geospatial Thinking: Mapping Your Research

  Geospatial science is a broad and fast-growing discipline that allows researchers the ability to analyze spatio-temporal aspects of people, places and processes. The principal means for studying this phenomenon is through the use of GIS or geographic information systems. The US Department of Labor has identified GIS as one of the three most important industries of the 21st century. This discussion provides an introduction to this increasingly important technology. This presentation will provide the basics of what GIS is, how it pertains to your research interests and the resources available to assist you here at Northwestern. Desktop GIS, web GIS, and how to locate data will all be covered in this presentation.    
 
   Location:  Library Classroom, B238
Time:  9:55 am - 10:40 am
Presenters:  Kelsey Rydland, GIS/Data Analyst
   Ann Aler, Geospatial & Cartographic Specialist

Living History: Using Oral History Resources

  This session will explore resources for oral history projects. Major focus will be on two vast archives of oral history material. The Visual History Archive of the Shoah Foundation contains nearly 52,000 video testimonies of survivors and other witnesses of the Holocaust taped in 56 countries and in 32 languages between 1994 and 1999. The History Makers Digital Archive is the largest African American oral video history archive in the world providing access to over 61,221 stories from oral history interviews with 1,195 historically significant African Americans are currently available. This session will focus on accessing and using these resources as well as providing some general information on locating other oral history materials and archives.    
 
   Location:  Room 2628 , 2nd Floor, East Tower
Time:  9:55 am - 10:40 am
Presenter:  Harriet Lightman, Head, Research & Learning Services and Liaison for History & American Studies
   Kathleen Bethel, African American Studies Librarian and Liaison for Gender Studies.
   Geoff Morse, Research Services Manager, Liaison for Religious Studies and Linguistics.

Navigating the Secret World of Archives

  Personal papers, institutional records, documents, historic photos, and other primary sources are crucial to research in most humanities and social sciences fields. However, these unique materials can be difficult to track down—whether in digital or in physical format--because they are organized, indexed, and accessed very differently from books and periodicals. This session will serve as your personal GPS, helping you find your way to elusive archival and manuscript collections through NUL databases and other resources, and steering you through the next steps of successful primary source research.
  Session Handout
 
   Location:  Forum Room,2799, 2nd Floor, South Tower
Time:  9:55 am - 10:40 am
Presenter:  Janet Olson, Assistant University Archivist

Take a Demographics High Dive

  Does your research explore questions about how people live, work, play, worship, etc.? Need to find numbers on population, racial or ethnic groups, employment, education, healthcare, religious affiliation, consumer behavior or voting (just to name a few)? Join us for a fast-paced overview of sources for demographic information that covers a wide variety of topics. Get advice on where to start looking, including major statistical resource indexes and government agencies. Gain understanding about when you need top level numbers as opposed to response-level survey data. Find out what numbers are tabulated at the national, state, or local levels. Learn a little about what numbers are publicly available and what may require special permission or need to be purchased. While most of the sources we touch on will cover the United States, some tips on foreign and international sources will also be offered. No experience with statistics or data analysis needed.    
 
   Location:  Library Classroom, B234
Time:  9:55 am - 10:40 am
Presenter:  John Hernandez, Web & Mobile Services Librarian