Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
- Bagnall, Roger S. The Encyclopedia of Ancient History. Malden, MA: Wiley-Blackwell, 2012. MAIN Reference 930.03 E563. Major work, recently published.
- Cancik, Hubert, and Helmuth Schneider. Brill's New Pauly: Encyclopaedia of the Ancient World. Leiden: Brill, 2002- . MAIN Reference 903 N481X or Internet. The premier scholarly encyclopedia on the ancient world. Can be a little tricky to use for the uninitiated. Citations in the bibliography often given in abbreviated form; to get full information, click on "New Pauly," and find list of "bibliographic abbreviations." Or email me and I'll be glad to help.
- Gagarin, Michael, and Elaine Fantham. The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2010. Internet. Less detailed than the New Pauly; designed more for the general student.
- Goldfield, David R. Encyclopedia of American Urban History. Thousand Oaks: Sage Publications, 2007. MAIN Reference 307.76409 E56 and Internet.
- Grimal, Pierre. The Dictionary of Classical Mythology. Blackwell Reference. New York: Blackwell, 1985. MAIN Reference 292 G861dX.
- Grossman, James R., Ann Durkin Keating, and Janice L. Reiff. The Encyclopedia of Chicago. Chicago, Ill.: University of Chicago Press, 2004. MAIN Reference 977.311 E56 or Internet.
- Hansen, William F. Handbook of Classical Mythology. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 2004. MAIN Reference 292.13 H249h.
- Hornblower, Simon, and Antony Spawforth. The Oxford Classical Dictionary. 4th ed.. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2012. MAIN Large Books 913.38 O98 2012 or Internet. Key work for classical studies.
- March, Jennifer R. Dictionary of Classical Mythology. Second edition. Oxford [England]: Oxbow Books, 2014. Internet.
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new windowAccess point for the Grove Dictionary of Art and several Oxford reference sources on art and architecture. The Grove Dictionary of Art is the most complete encyclopedia of art available in English, featuring nearly 50,000 articles on a variety of topics including art movements, artists biographies, and countries. Articles are signed, include brief bibliographies, and images. Images are searchable and made available through Oxfords partnerships with museums, galleries and arts organizations.
Bibliographies
- Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new windowOffers annotated bibliographies of the most important books and articles on specific topics in a growing range of subject areas. Particularly useful for anyone beginning research. Covers classical studies well, but spotty on American history.
Annotated Bibliography of Chicago History by Call Number: Main Library Reference 016.977311 J59aISBN: 0913820083Publication Date: 1979Dated, but still sometimes useful for locating older writings on the history of Chicago.
