Skip to main content

ENGLISH_105-6: Making Sense of Crises (Zakarin): May 11th session

Conversations between sources, literature reviews, further writing support...

Searching for Literature Review articles:
Lit reviews are overviews of scholarly information published on a defined topic, both summarizing and synthesizing the ideas presented. You can find, in some of the databases below, a type of document (article) called a literature review. 

Expanded definition: "A literature review can be just a simple summary of the sources, but it usually has an organizational pattern and combines both summary and synthesis. A summary is a recap of the important information of the source, but a synthesis is a re-organization, or a reshuffling, of that information. It might give a new interpretation of old material or combine new with old interpretations. Or it might trace the intellectual progression of the field, including major debates. And depending on the situation, the literature review may evaluate the sources and advise the reader on the most pertinent or relevant."  from http://writingcenter.unc.edu/handouts/literature-reviews/

Accessing Full Text

Some article databases provide full text while most only provide references to articles.

Look out for the purple "Find it @ NU" button among your database search results.

Click on the button to see if Northwestern provides full text access to the article via one of our electronic journal packages.

News Article Databases

World History / US History

Multi-Subject Article Databases (Good starting place for ALL research topics!)

Psychology / Sociology / Social Sciences in general

Policy / Political Science / Internatl Affairs